Pa Was A Visionary (short fiction)

Daily Prompt: Bloggers, Unplugged

Sometimes, we all need a break from these little glowing boxes. How do you know when it’s time to unplug? What do you do to make it happen? (Nothing really sparked with me this morning so I wrote a short story with the term ‘glowing box.’)

Another fad.
Another fad.

“Pa,” Jacob said. “They call it a ray-dee-o, it rhymes with ’way to go.’ It’s not rad-ee-o. You sound like a hick when you say it that way.”

“That’s because I am a hick, junior,” Pa said. “And it’s rad-ee-o. It’s rhymes with ‘fad-ee-o because it’s a fad and see it go. It has already be replaced by that glowing box they call a tela-vizd-ee-own. And they’ll replace that glowing box with another fad for the eye.”

 Sixty years later.

Grandpa and Levi just walked into a computer store.

“Grandpa, thanks for taking me out to buy a gift, but please don’t call it a little computer,” Levi said. “It’s an ipad; I-P-A-D.”

“Sure, sonny,” Grandpa said. “I certainly wouldn’t want to sound like a hick and embarrass you. Did I ever tell you how my grandpa used to embarrass me and call it rad-ee-oo?”

“Yes, grandpa,” Levi said. “Many times.”

“May I help you?” A young clerk said who had just enough coffee to sound annoying.

“Sure ‘nuff,” Grandpa said. “I brought my grandson with me and heard tell of some fancy computer called an eye fad. Could you help us out?”

The clerk smiled. “It’s called an ipad, sir.”

“I’m the customer and I’ll call it what I like,” Grandpa said. “It’s for the eye and in a year or so it will me replaced by another fad so it‘s an eye fad.”

Grandpa looked Levi. “I told you the part about my grandpa calling it a fad for the eye didn’t I? The ole geezer was ahead of his time.”

14 Comments

  1. I work for the makers of your “eye fad” and one of fastest growing markets is the “geezers” like your grandpa. They are flocking to it. Amazing to watch their eyes light up when they start playing solitaire or get on Facetime with the grand kids.

  2. My father asked (then 95 years old), what is actually a computer and what is its purpose? How could I explain that one?
    Mr. Swiss just asked my why he now gets a FaceTime option on his iPhone everytime he wants to call someone and what it is. My answer “If you don’t know, then neither do I”.
    You hit the nail on the head with this one.

Blather away, if you like.

