Daily Prompts; Aren’t Perfect, That’s The Blogger’s Job

Daily Prompt: A Little Sneaky

Are writing prompts a useful exercise, or do you find them to be too limiting and/or hokey?

Thanks for asking.

From time to time I might echo a compliant because the prompt, in my view, is sophomoric or doesn’t ring with me, but that’s all a part of the challenge.

From my perspective, which is often very narrow, I don’t care much for the ones that make attempts to address one’s own grandiosity. The most recent that comes to mind is the one about making a movie of your life. That might be right down some blogger’s alley, but I prefer one’s that are more subtle to revealing one’s ego.

A prompt is a prompt, though. We can either play along or go home. I am happy to have something to write about and keep my mind busy when it goes blank. The prompts I don’t like makes me search for the hidden and not so obvious. That’s what I like anyway.

Writers are always simplifying what is complicated and complicating what is simple. It is the writer’s or blogger’s job to take the sow’s ear and make it into a purse.

16 comments

Blather away, if you like.

