The Difference Between Funny And Humor

Steve Allen was best know for his slapstick, yet conceived and wrote one of the most humorous book and TV adaptations I've ever experienced - Meeting of the Minds. Great and diverse characters in history sit at a table and defend their lives, decisions, and philosophies. One word - brilliant! And while I'm at it one more - humorous.

Steve Allen was best known for his slapstick, yet conceived and wrote one of the most humorous books and TV adaptations I’ve ever experienced – Meeting of the Minds. Great and diverse characters from history sit at a table and defend their lives, decisions, and philosophies. One word – brilliant! And while I’m at it one more – humorous.

Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha

Do you consider yourself funny? What role does humor play in your life? Who’s the funniest person you know?

The Three Stooges are funny (not to me, but for the sake of argument). Some comedians are funny and some are humorous. George Carlin and Bill Cosby are humorous. Funny is trying for the joke. Humor is finding the joke and exposing it. Humor is more of an art. It’s like the sculpture artist; he knows the object is in the block of stone, he just has to find it.

My brain has always seen a twist in everything. I was one of those annoying kids that sat in a Saturday afternoon matinée and gave humorous lines to what was happening on the screen. Yet, I’m not a joke writer. Yet, I tag many of my articles with “humor.” Nobody has told me, yet, “Hey, that ain’t funny.” Well there were a few teachers when I was a kid, but they were a tough audience; beatings only made them smile, at least when beating me.

Humor is surprising. When I write, it never starts out that way. It is a twist in the story. Not all humor is uproariously funny. Some is subtle. That is what I lean toward. Humor makes the reader remember the point you are making.

Funny, to me, is forced. It is contrived. Is not well hidden. Slapstick is funny. Peter Sellers in The Pink Panther movies was slapstick, but was so brilliant the it was humorous. The character did not see the humor in what he was doing, but the supporting characters were embarrassingly amused by his actions. It was funny and humorous, rare.

My novels are serious, but I will lighten moments with a humorous remark. If, though, the reader doesn’t have a sense of humor it will pass without notice.

One of the funniest scenes I’ve ever seen was from Animal House. John Belushi is in the dean’s office with four legs of a dead horse behind him. A maintenance worker is in the background measuring the horse and the door and can’t figure how to remove the horse through the door. At last he starts up a chain saw. At first it looks as though he will attempt to widen the door, but instead moves to carve the horse. You don’t see it coming. A brilliant mixture of rationale with absurdity. Stuff that happens everyday.

Funny is for the moment, humor is for the long haul. I try to write humor.

16 Comments

Filed under Daily Prompt, Essays

16 responses to “The Difference Between Funny And Humor

  1. Love your posts, some day will have to read your books!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. I enjoyed your distinction between funny and humorous. We Brits have an expression, “Very droll!” I wonder whether you use it and where it would fit on your scale? Sue

    • Actually I’ve never heard the term before. Nevertheless British humor or humour is more to my liking. Although if the dialogue moves too fast I have trouble understanding the accents.

  4. Pingback: A Face In The Crowd | Cheri Speak

  5. Pingback: I Can Haz Funnies! | Stuphblog

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt:Funny Ha-Ha | Motherhood and Beyond

  7. Pingback: That’s a Fly Swatter, Not a Spatula | So I Went Undercover

  8. Pingback: Am I really all that funny? | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: Make Your Own Damn Sandwich | Molly Greye

  10. Pingback: What if I could make you laugh? | Okay, what if ?

  11. Pingback: Laughter is the best medicine | A mom's blog

  12. Pingback: Laughing at Me | Natasha's Memory Garden

  13. This is great. I totally agree with you and I think it’s one of the best responses I’ve read to this Daily Post. Nice!

Blather away, if you like.

