The Uncle Buck School Of Higher Learning

Uncle Buck and the teacher.
Uncle Buck and the teacher.

Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits

Another school semester will soon begin. If you’re in school, are you looking forward to starting classes? If you’re out of school, what do you miss about it — or are you glad those days are over?

There was something about me and school. I didn’t like being taught, but I enjoyed learning. I was like the a guy on a tour bus; when the guide had everybody looking out the right side of the bus at majestic mountain peaks and water falls I was looking out the left side at the flat plains and meandering rivers. My imagination never allowed me to climb a mountain or go over a water falls, but I could walk the plains and ford the rivers.

School is like a grocery store. When you walk in the door you are given a $100 to spend in fifteen minutes. Some kids make the most of it. They buy everything they need and want. I buy a sack of flour, butter, a sack of potatoes, milk, eggs – you know just the basics. When I got to the check-out my bill was only $45.86 and I told them to keep the rest.

Yeah, I know, I may not got what was needed, but I sure met some interesting shoppers along the way.

There is a scene from the movie Uncle Buck which says what I’m trying to say better than what I possibly can. It is the scene with Uncle Buck and his nieces teacher:

School is a time to keep the kids inside the bus, but allow them to look out any window they wish while getting them safely to their destination. It is a time to let them buy as much with the $100 dollars they have, but make sure they don’t spend it all at the candy (no pun intended) aisle or go next door the video store.

Yeah, I was a bad egg; a twiddler, a dreamer, a silly heart, and a jabber box. School became an outlet for the peripatetic thinking that laid dormant within.

I failed to succeed at school, but who wants to be a seed-sucker anyway.

12 comments

Blather away, if you like.

