A Pocket Full Of Money Or A Heart Full Of Joy

I don't see a happy person here, perhaps insanity.
I don’t see a happy person here, perhaps insanity.

Daily Prompt: Moved to Tears

Describe the last time you were moved to tears by something beautiful.

The older I become the more prone to tears.

Last night my son sent a photo of him and his wife. My son and his wife are private people otherwise I would post it.

My son is teaching a class that he is really excited about. He loves teaching and the interaction he has with students.

Whenever you see someone taking delight in something meaningful it is a beautiful thing, it is perhaps the best thing. There is nothing more heartwarming and satisfying than to open hearts and minds and to brace and support the spirit of students who want to succeed.

What is most enriching is that he does it for free.

I am convinced there is a purity about teaching that money sullies. Isn’t it really true that the best advice ever received is given for free and the worst advice is what is paid for?

So when I hear that expression “You get what you pay for” it was probably first said by some shyster trying to sell something that can be had for free.

I’m looking at my son and his wife and wonder, how different their smiles would be if their pockets were full of money rather than their hearts full of joy.

I don’t think my son would be happy doing anything else. And frankly, although I would be proud of anything he chose to do with his life, his mother and I can’t be any prouder than what we are with what he is doing now.

People are reluctant to share money, but joy has to be shared.

Is there any doubt to the veracity to the statement at 1st Timothy 6:10, “For the love of money is a root of all sorts of injurious things…”

Yeah, when you see joy, you have to give way to tears.

18 comments

  1. “Whenever you see someone taking delight in something meaningful it is a beautiful thing, it is perhaps the best thing”

    Your statement here is perfect. When one has discovered their ture “calling” then there is nothing more important. My Husband and I have a favorite verse “Delight yourself in the lord and He will give you t desires of your heart” It sounds as though your son has found hid “Hearts desire”.

      • : ) yes, I loved being a “teacher” too. I worked in special education and really miss it since I “retired” due to health issues. But The wonderful thing that I discovered is that I thought I that I would miss out on so much, but when you are “called” God uses us in other opportunities .

  2. Loved this. Interesting – “I am convinced there is a purity about teaching that money sullies.” I am paid to teach, but I also do voluntary teaching. Guess which I enjoy most!

    • Absolutely, I know what you mean. I have no problem with teachers making good livings and respectful money, but when a teacher starts talking about how much more they make than another and seemingly attach their worth to it, I sort of shut down. They dishonor a noble cause by reducing it to $$$..

  3. I have a teachers prayer that hangs by my door, so I see it every day before going out….my favorite… I am sure you will like it too
    A teacher’s prayer……

    One day I would like to teach,

    just a few people,

    many and beautiful things,

    that would help them

    when they will one day teach-a few people

  4. I have to disagree with your quote from 1st Timothy 6:10. The only Bible by which we can be saved is the King James Version.
    The KJV says; For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.

    The only way to be saved is to believe in the Acts 2:38 message. My God is a great God. When I repented of my sins, God filled me with the gift of the Holy Ghost. I have been baptized in the name of Jesus Christ. I know the Holy Ghost is real because I have spoken in other tongues. God gave us this promise. This Pentecostal truth is the most wonderful way of life. You may know this better as holy rollers. God moves in a mighty way in every service we have. I love this one god , one faith, one baptism message.

    Based on your quote you have disobeyed God. The book of Revelations 22:18-19. And if any man shall take away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part out of the book of life, and out of the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.

    • Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I find Pentecostals to be earnest, humble, and hardworking people, who love God and try their best to serve him. Holy rollers is a rather derogatory term. It is much like calling Catholics, Jews, and Muslims demeaning names. To use it in jest is one thing, to use it in earnest or to demean is quite another. I don’t like it when people use the term Holy roller in earnest. They demean a person’s conscientious effort to please God.
      My post was in answer to the Daily Prompt which is sort a challenge for writers to post each day. The Prompt was to write about the last thing that made you cry.
      It wrote about how I felt about seeing a picture of my son and his wife and the circumstances and location of the photo. I’m sorry that my joy was not appreciated by you.
      I’m saddened that you took that tender moment for me, which I wanted to share with others, and turned it into a brief dissertation on quoting from the King James Version of the Bible. And went on to indicate my name will be removed from the book of life as a result.
      Perhaps you misunderstood my intent.

  5. Money is a man conceived construct, American Currency is valued as a Fiat currency, in other word it has value only because we say it does. When our government goes belly up, (which it will soon) A billion dollars in cash will be worthless. And think of all the poor saps on those credit/debit cards. Some of us won’t even be able to buy a pound of flour!

  6. This post really resonates with me. I have always been the sort of person who knows that the best things in life aren’t things. Money can buy a lot of things, but not true happiness, health or love. Those things are truly priceless. I am very glad your son and his wife are so happy which, in turn, makes you happy. And having read your post, now I feel happy too. Blessings to you and your family.

    “There are some people so poor that the only thing they have is money!”

    One of my favourite quotes of all time 🙂

Blather away, if you like.

