Jacob’s Secret (short fiction)

images[2]Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma

Tell us something most people probably don’t know about you.

“I’ll give you a hundred dollars if you tell me how you became a panhandler.”

Jacob smiled smugly. “There are secrets, sir, that no one should ever know about yourself. Keep them locked away. Don’t reveal them to friend nor enemy. Those are the things that display weakness that can be exploited.”

“Have you ever had such happen to you?”

“Yes,” Jacob said openly. “Many years ago. I revealed something very personal to a friend whose name was George. George became an enemy saying dreadful things about me. They were things that took away my dignity and left only what you see here today.”

“A panhandler on a street corner?”

“Yes,” Jacob said bitterly

“What was it?”

“I was at the top of my class and head of my fraternity. My friend, George, told me that for a secret he would recommend his father hire me for a summer working on his yacht. He went on to explain that it would only be used for one week and a couple of weekends all summer. The rest of the time I would live in luxury and be paid handsomely for my services.”

“You took him up?”

“Yes,” Jacob said. “I told him I came from squalor, nothing more than trailer park trash. I sold my secret and gave away my dignity.”

“And that’s why you are a panhandler today?”

“Yes,” Jacob said.

“So, the way I see it, you’re still the same person.”

“How so?” Jacob said sharply.

“Willing to sacrifice dignity for a hand-out.”

“Who do you think you are talking to me that way?” Jacob said inching closer.

“I’m George. I’m still your friend and willing to tell you the truth.”

Jacob squinted and looked closely at George‘s face. “Yes, it is you. Why did you tell others about me? I trusted you.”

“I told no one, my friend. I was young and made a foolish offer. I didn’t expect you to take me up on it.”

“The fraternity began calling me ’deckhand’ after that summer. I couldn’t take it. They knew all about my background.”

“No they didn’t. All they knew was that you were a deckhand for the summer. I said nothing.”

“You mean I’m doing this for nothing?” Jacob said sadly.

“Poverty is a state of mind, my friend,” George said.

“Give me my hundred dollars,” Jacob said angrily.

George held a hundred-dollar bill to Jacob.

Jacob slowly removed it from George’s hand.

“Little has changed, has is Jacob?”

“If ya don’t mind,” Jacob said. “Don’t tell the other panhandlers that I once belonged to a fraternity.”

“And tonight’s mystery blogger is…”

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Waiting for the flight to Halifax | Musings from a practical mystic
  2. A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima – I’m a criminal | Geek Ergo Sum
  3. Daily Prompt: Mysterious | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  4. The Facade | The Magic Black Book
  5. I, the Replacement | Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima | likereadingontrains
  6. What a Yank! | Becoming Aussie
  7. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | ThisCornerOfTheWoods
  8. The Phone Call from Russia | The Happy Hermit
  9. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in Engima | Faraziyya
  10. What To Do With My Free Time: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | To Pursue Happiness
  11. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Girl | Mindful Splatter
  12. Mysterious | thoughtsofrkh
  13. Jacob’s Secret (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  14. Ode to the Fountain Pen… | The Rider
  15. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped… | Under the Monkey Tree
  16. My Little Secret | Tony’s Texts
  17. Crunch, Slap, Sploosh | downtownnokomis
  18. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima | hometogo232
  19. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped In An Enigma | suzie81’s Blog
  20. Wild thang | Relax…
  21. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima | George and Nigel
  22. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima | Postcards from
  23. The insolvent graduate | A couple of dollars
  24. A Regular Michaelangelo [Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima] | unknowinglee
  25. Apparently, I should not admit this in public . . . | burnedbutternut
  26. Catherine B.’s Blog | I’m A Mystery | Daily Prompt | A Mystery Wraped in an Enigma
  27. The Enigmatic Mystery of the Real Cie | The Cheese Whines
  28. Shhh!: Daily Prompt | BLUE BEAD PUBLICATIONS
  29. Pay Me No Mind . . . | meanderedwanderings
  30. The Key to My Secret | Iam Who Iam
  31. Big bad George | Thin spiral notebook
  32. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  33. Is There Something in Those Layers? | floatingsheep
  34. A Secret… | Haiku By Ku
  35. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima | unknowinglee
  36. The creature of mystery, fantasy and ultimate beauty! | My Tiny Thoughts
  37. Fear on the bridge | Vivir, que no es poco
  38. Daily Prompt: A Purple Haze of Mystery | Slam on the Brakes, Pull Over, Take the Picture
  39. Daily Prompt: Full-blooded American Dane | cinnwriterblog
  40. Chef Mental Rollercoaster | mentalrollercoaster
  41. A Mystery Wrapped In An Enigma | bheehappy
  42. No More Mysteries | clarior e tenebris
  43. Nobody is Perfect | Lewis Cave
  44. Ведем ежедневник: Тайна, окутанная мраком. | Впечатанные Мысли
  45. Daily Prompt: A Mystery To Solve? | My Daily Prompt Blog
  46. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima « Mama Bear Musings
  47. The Daily Prompt: Criminal Psychology and Me | theconsciouswriter
  48. Daily Prompt: I’m Really an Introvert | Cytherean Dreams
  49. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | Let There be Peace on Earth
  50. A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima: The Early Days | Khana’s Web
  51. Jeckyll and Hyde | I really just pretend to know stuff
  52. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma – Who is she? | SERENDIPITY
  53. One thing you might not know about me? I’m filled with ‘rage’ | Curious Jac
  54. A WAR NEVER WON | hastywords
  55. Mysterious me | Spunky Wayfarer
  56. The Thin Line Seperating Madness and Creativity | Spontaneous Ditties
  57. What You Don’t Know About Me | Pieces of the Puzzle
  58. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | Quirky Brunette
  59. Why Would I? | ayimas
  60. Writing Fiction: Mystery and Enigma | Dog Leader Mysteries
  61. Limerick for Denise | clarior e tenebris
  62. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | Script Under Construction
  63. the UNCATEGORISED … | the TRASH BASH
  64. No Mystery – I am a Fan of the Twilight Zone | No Facilities
  65. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Engima | mommy&everything
  66. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | The corner of my imagination
  67. I Was At Disney Senior Night (or Not) | Sam’s Online Journal
  68. Daily Prompt: Mysterious | Hamburg und Mee(h)r
  69. The Healing Place « Overcoming to Becoming
  70. Summer! | Journey Called Life …
  71. My dog is a mystic “pack leader” |
  72. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | prettywitgla33es
  73. Who Knew? | A Day in the Life
  74. Mysterious Friendships | Vampire Maman
  75. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma- Curious Connect with Televsion | Expressions
  76. I don’t like to talk about this but….. | djgarcia94
  77. Daily Prompt: A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma | Musings of a Budding Filipina Mom to a Half-Blood Kid

29 Comments

  1. This was a great story. Thank you for sharing. It’s interesting to note that so many things are just of our own perception and those “secrets” we all think are really just an extension of how we treat ourselves and others. On that note, we all probably “think too much” – resulting in something of the Jacob situation.

    Out of curiosity, have you ever talked with someone who is (or you see frequently) that does panhandle? Have you ever asked them to tell you their story, or even, a story, for that matter. Have you ever wondered why they do? The majority, that we know, obviously do not have the resources for other things; on the other hand, there is minority who do live in rather wealthy situations – a few articles are posted up on this – but do so as a “means to simply increase their personal wealth” more.

    If I may be so prying as to inquire what your thoughts on such are?
    I understand that this was fiction; merely just curious is all.

    1. Wow! You are asking for an essay, which if I fully answer at this point it will take so much time. I devoted an entire novella (<em>All About Homeless Hannah) about homeless people. Yet I don’t profess to even know the first thing about them. Deep in my writing is, what I believe, is how I am affected by the plight of the homeless; though not having or losing dignity I afford it to them.

  2. What you have written could be an analogy of how mistaken some of us perceive ourselves in our day to day life. I’m not sure that made any sense and I can’t decide to how it should be reworded. I like your stories of the homeless. Very interesting but sad on so many levels.

  3. You had me at… “Poverty is a state of mind, my friend”.
    I want to say it’s eye opening. I am a bankrupt and I am exactly in Jacob’s mentality. It’s a state of mind, nothing more. Thank you.

    1. Thanks for your comment. There are people who live well at the so-called poverty level. I am at what the government calls the poverty level. I’m glad they told me, otherwise I would have never known.

Blather away, if you like.

