What Makes A Good Blog? – I Want Blood, Not Catsup

10256715-close-up-of-french-fries-and-ketchup-on-white-background[1]Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest?

What makes a blog great? What makes you follow a blog or “Like” a post?

Sports writer, Red Smith, once said, (or words to this effect) ’Writing is the easiest thing in the world to do, You simply sit down at the typewriter, open your veins, and bleed.’ Anyone who takes their writing serious knows what that mean;. you put yourself on the page.

I look for blood, as it were, on the page.

When my son was in his teens I was always playing jokes on him. One day he was in the bathroom with the door shut. I smeared catsup below my left eye. A knife was gripped in hand and held to my eye as if the knife had caused a bloody wound. (I don’t think things out so well, I know this is terribly bizarre and disturbing, but for some strange reason I thought it was clever and funny at the time.)

I knocked on the door. “Ahhhhhh,” I moaned as if in pain. “There’s been an accident.”

My son said with little hesitation, “I don’t know what you think you are trying to pull, Dad, but I can smell the catsup.”

The sight of blood can be faked with catsup, but it doesn’t pass the smell test. It is the same with writing. Some blogs may look like good writing, but doesn’t smell like it.

I don’t read blogs that try to regale me with words or stuff that is meant to fake me into thinking it’s blood. That said, I sometimes look for the person behind the regaling also.

Writing is, in some ways, trying to seek truth and reveal it on a page. It’s sometimes wrapped in a story, essay, or poem, but it’s a truth; it’s what you are trying to tell or show others. Truth is simple and straightforward.

If it’s blood I read, I hit “like”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               If it’s catsup I smell, I take a hike

Catsup goes great with fries.

More great blogger:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: Great or greatest – Teach me something or make me laugh | mindurspirit
  2. 1 July Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | family photos food & craft
  3. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  4. Recipe for a great blog. | The untold, the unsaid…
  5. One of the ‘Great’ or ‘Big’ *smile | Chicomallorca’s Blog
  6. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | Faraziyya
  7. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? – show us GREATNESS. | masadiso79’s Blog
  8. A Ten-Minute Poem | just another outlet
  9. Give a little bit of yourself to me | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  10. The Greatest? | Musings of a Suburban Creampuff
  11. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? « Mama Bear Musings
  12. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | Postcards from
  13. Why Do You Like This? [Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest?] | unknowinglee
  14. What Makes A Good Blog? – I Want Blood, Not Catsup | The Jittery Goat
  15. why follow? | Prayers and Promises
  16. The Greatest… | The Rider
  17. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | Quirky Brunette
  18. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | Under the Monkey Tree
  19. Phoneography Weekly: Not exactly timber |
  20. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | بيسان
  21. Why am I following? | New Visions
  22. Blogging Does Not Make One Great | Stuphblog
  23. Great or Greatest? | bheehappy
  24. Daily Post: Great or Greatest? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  25. Compelling | Maine Forest Cafe
  26. How to Brew a GREAT Blog (or not) | Iam Who Iam
  27. downtownnokomis
  28. To Promote, or Not to Promote. | The Silver Lining of the Optimistic Pessimist
  29. Not so great | Rob’s Surf Report
  30. What Made Hers Work for Me | clarior e tenebris
  31. Ali told me I’M the greatest | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  32. The Friends I’ve Yet To Meet | Dream Big, Bark Loudly
  33. Meanings of “Like” | Spunky Wayfarer
  34. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | George and Nigel
  35. Daily Prompt: Thumbs Up | One Starving Activist
  36. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | joanaslittleworld
  37. Help me learn | Vivir, que no es poco
  38. Great Blogs… | Haiku By Ku
  39. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? « Getting Rid Of Boredom
  40. Tell me a story | Explorer Leslie
  41. Great or Greatest | Geek Ergo Sum
  42. Greatness or not, this is for me. | tornin2’s Blog
  43. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | Mindful Splatter
  44. Daily Prompt: Great? Greater? Greatest? | SERENDIPITY
  45. a weekend in Connecticut | To Pursue Happiness
  46. Community: Daily Post | BLUE BEAD PUBLICATIONS
  47. Great or Greatest? | The Nameless One
  48. True Colours | Clive’s Blog
  49. Telling A Personal Story | Self-Help for Creatively Deprived
  50. It’s all about customization | djgarcia94
  51. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/01/daily-prompt-great/   | thoughtsofrkh
  52. Like You | clarior e tenebris
  53. Daily Prompt: Greatness | Hamburg und Mee(h)r
  54. a blogger is only good as his last post | Musings of a Random Mind
  55. Who knows, it just is, sometimes, isn’t it? | thoughtsofrkh
  56. Greatness – More than the Average. | Mind My Mind But…
  57. Daily Prompt: What Makes Me Like A Post? | My Daily Prompt Blog
  58. Greatness is what we on the brink of | My Tiny Thoughts
  59. Blog It Like You Mean It | A Day in the Life
  60. the UNCATEGORISED |Daily Prompt… | the TRASH BASH
  61. Greatness: The Smallest of All Things | The Oyster Index
  62. Great or Greatest? – Popcorn & Movies | Khana’s Web
  63. Greatness of Heart: A Humane Nation Wayne Pacelle’s Blog | Dog Leader Mysteries
  64. 7/1/13 Daily Prompt: What makes me “like” a blog | zestoflittlerock
  65. Red Dahlia | Taking One Day At A Time

 

37 comments

  1. That appealed to me (she says as she wipes the blood stains off the computer – makes a change to milk and crumbs from the breakfast session). I write because I enjoy writing, I am still not sure whether I can or not. Tell me: are there times when nothing seems to flow and other times when yes, I have it, the blog of the year. I often wonder how others feel when writing their masterpieces (which you are very good at).

    • Thanks for you kind assessment. It is strange when writing. Sometimes you may feel that something you have written is not good or may have little impact, but pow! Everyone has wonderful words to say about it. Just write and flow or write and struggle. Good or bad, be honest.

  2. I see your point; I wish I were linguistically skilful to convey such thing, I think that what requires of as a writer ..

  3. I think you’re absolutely right! As you always seem to be! I feel there’s always a bit of me on the page, wittingly or unwittingly…and yes, the one’s that people like the most are the ones that have the darker side of me on there. Ah well, I guess I should get back to bleeding…

  4. I must say you’ve got quite an earthy style to your writing and a bit of a wicked sense of humour thrown in there too.

Blather away, if you like.

