I Could Be King And Drive a ‘49 Packard

Fit for a king.
Fit for a king.

Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen

Do you belong in this day and age? Do you feel comfortable being a citizen of the 21st-century? If you do, explain why — and if you don’t, when in human history would you rather be?

Actually we have little to say in the matter. If we did it is likely we would all bounce around from era to era like a dead-beat tenant who skips out when the rent is due.

Yesterday I stopped at a used car lot that specialized in vintage automobiles. First I looked at a ’49 Packard, then a ’65 Vette, then a ’63 Thunderbird, then a ’55 two door Chevy wagon, and finally a ’61 Chrysler Imperial. Wow! I think in just those cars alone there was enough metal to build a battleship.

I kept going back to that ‘49 Packard. Memories began to stir in my mind as a little boy. The carpet in the back seat area was rough like sand and the seats weren’t that much softer. I looked at how basic and uncomplicated the dashboard was. There was only AM radio. Everything was built to be aesthetically pleasing but also the look of strength of durability.

In those days there was no new-car smell. They all smelled like an old damp sofa left on the front porch for a month.

It was easy for me to place myself behind the steering wheel and operate the clutch with the “three on the tree” gear shift. Indeed, I drove similar cars as a teenager.

For a moment I did that very thing. I was behind the wheel driving down North Main Street in Lima, Ohio on a warm Saturday afternoon. All my windows were rolled down (we actually had to crank them down) because there was no air-conditioning. I saw young boys in rolled up blue jeans and Davy Crockett coonskin caps. Little girls in pastel dresses and plastic purses holding the hand of their smartly dressed mothers wearing pillbox hats. Men walked briskly in grey suits and fedoras. The odor of a local hamburger shop wafted through the cranked-down windows of the car. The radio was playing Nat King Cole. I hear a horn from another car; not a beep beep, but a HONK! A breeze catches the courthouse flag and whisk dust and a page from yesterday’s down the sidewalk.

With what I know now I could be king back then.

Suddenly someone runs a light. There car is squarely in front of me. A collision is inevitable. I look at the steering wheel without an air bag. I look at the solid metal dash that my head might strike. I look over the hood of my ’49 Packard. It’s solid. It won’t absorb impact. I’m going to bounce around the interior of my ‘49 Packard like a pin ball.

That’s about the time I click my ruby slippers and say, “There’s no place like home. There’s no place like home. There’s no place like home.”

In other words, “As soon as the rent is due I’m ready to move on.”

Past and future bloggers:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen – show us MODERN. | masadiso79’s Blog
  2. Daily Prompt: Modern | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  3. 21st Century Citizen | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen « Mama Bear Musings
  5. Abandoned, but for the sun and moon above |
  6. 21st Century Cat lives
  7. Catherine B.’s Blog | 21st Century Woman | Daily Prompt | Modern
  8. Product of my environment | Musings of a Suburban Creampuff
  9. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen / Modern | Postcards from
  10. RUSSIA’S REWIND | Standing Ovation, Seated
  11. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | Under the Monkey Tree
  12. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | brent’s iPhone 4S & japan
  13. I Could Be King And Drive a ‘49 Packard | The Jittery Goat
  14. Back When I Was Young: Movie theatres were BYOF | DCMontreal
  15. 1984… | thoughtsofrkh
  16. What is Modern to You May Not Be Modern to Me [Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen] | unknowinglee
  17. Born in the wrong decade | chaotic keyboard
  18. Imagination fodder | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  19. 21st Century | thelissachronicles
  20. 21st Century Citizen: Uncomfortable Me | Khana’s Web
  21. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | Faraziyya
  22. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | iChristian
  23. Lydablogger | Being Modern – I Belong
  24. Lydablogger | Being Socially Modern
  25. “Can I borrow a cup of cornmeal..” | Relax…
  26. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | The Educated Illiterates
  27. Modern Moonlight | clarior e tenebris
  28. Daily Prompt: architecture of the now | r | one studio architecture
  29. Modern Woman: Daily Prompt | BLUE BEAD PUBLICATIONS
  30. The Feast half over | A Teacher’s Blog
  31. I don`t belong in the 21st Century | Joakim Knudsen Photography
  32. Life: Past, Present, Future | meanderedwanderings
  33. 21st Century Citizen | Strings of Life
  34. I’m where I’m meant to be | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  35. How My Phone Is Changing Me | Self-Help for Creatively Deprived
  36. This is my age | Vivir, que no es poco
  37. 21st Century Citizen | Lit and Scribbles with Jae
  38. Comfort in the 20th or 21st? That is the question | tornin2’s Blog
  39. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  40. 21st Century Boy? | Notes from a gay mentalist
  41. Daily Prompt: Citizen of Today | My Blog
  42. Daily Post: I Can Not-Belong Here As Well As Anywhere | Iam Who Iam
  43. A Modern Question | windandlaughter
  44. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | bloobloons
  45. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | Stormie Kent’s Musings
  46. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | writinglikeastoner
  47. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen|Austen | Discovering Myself
  48. Embracing the 21st Century | mobibrad
  49. Daily Prompt | 21st Century | A woman of my time | thechymeeradiaries
  50. Another era | Spunky Wayfarer
  51. Daily Prompt: Time is the Answer | One Starving Activist
  52. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | Diary of Dennis
  53. Daily Prompt: A Modern View San Francisco | Slam on the Brakes, Pull Over, Take the Picture
  54. 21st Century Me? | Mind My Mind But…
  55. Daily Prompt: Life Confused–Technology Geek Longing For A More Simple Time | Reclaiming My Narnia
  56. Party with the Gatsby | Thriving Pessimist…
  57. just beacuse im bored | vision’s from my life
  58. USB Cigarette | Zemo’s Blog
  59. In Past. | ayimas
  60. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen: I Love on the Internet | Inside the Mind of a Crazy Cat Lady
  61. DRUNKEN SPIRITS | hastywords
  62. Daily Prompt; 21st Century Citizen | terry1954
  63. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | Vagabond
  64. To Wish Impossible Things | a former clarity
  65. 21st Century Soul | Compass & Quill
  66. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | The corner of my imagination
  67. Am I a 21st Century Human? | Untitled Entity
  68. Am I a 21st century citizen? | 365 wings of hope
  69. Thoroughly Modern | A Day in the Life
  70. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | The Life of Kevin Li
  71. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | So Says Matt
  72. Sweet, sweet 90′s Nostalgia, (Daily Prompt) | Running with Reality
  73. 25|6 Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | family photos food & craft
  74. Oops, Wrong Century… Or Not | tuckedintoacorner

14 comments

    • Nostalgic. Yes, surely it is. But to appreciate this one we must be living in same flat world. The globe wasn’t quite flat until recently.
      Myself could appreciate it because I could visualise either through my reading or watching movies or because I’ve seen about three quarters of the world already.
      For younger ones or for those living in the dark side of the world, and talking about Packard ‘49 surely they would be asking what animal is this? To be honest, we live in Borneo Island (mind you this is the 3rd largest island of the world) we were under the rule of British Crown Colony then when you people were driving Packard, I would say.
      Wonder was this Packard British’s equivalent might be Wolseley or Mini Austin.
      Talking about Mini, this one I saw was Mini Cooper, owned by John Lennon (Beatles) was kept in a little museum somewhere in Humberside, North East of England.
      The whole body of the car was covered completely with British coins Sterling Pound, that must be many thousands pounds- perhaps that in itself signified how much money John Lennon had already earned those days.
      Okay, come back about appreciation of vintage car, the earlier Packard was issued in 1903 in Ohio. While in Central Europe the first modern –the so-called aerodynamic design was produced by Czech in 1897-called Tatra, and then came Bugetti, Citroen and the like.
      I once had (not so old) jaguar and Mercedes but since I was the only one that appreciated them, I then have to make decision, rather then of not wanting to see them given freely to scarp iron mongers I would rather sold cheaply to friends.

Blather away, if you like.

