Blogging Is Like A Flea Market

hells_kitchen_flea_market[1]Daily Prompt: Tagline

Often, our blogs have taglines. But what if humans did, too? What would your tagline be?

Maybe it’s just me (and it usually is), but isn’t blogging like going to a flea market and setting up your own booth.

At first you don’t know exactly how you fit in or if you have the right product for the flea market crowd. Soon you realize that all kinds of people come to flea markets. After a while others begin to accept you and before long you are on the circuit.

The items you bring to the flea market are a specialty that maybe doesn’t attract a lot of buyers. You search around and find out what others bring and what customers buy. You make adjustments, but with your own twists. Your specialty items are always tucked away just waiting for that special customer.

I went to a flea market and became intrigued with an old man was showing his granddaughter how to sell the products. He didn’t know I was listening, but he was passing on information that would help that young lady make a go of things.

“Have a story for everything. That way they are buying not only the item, but a story or memory with it. Let me show you.”

A customer came to his booth and looked at a sewing basket.

“I bought that for my wife about two years before she passed. She carried that thing everywhere. A woman needs something like that around the house. Ah, you should have seen her, just as cute as could be. It’s like a man with his favorite tool box.”

He sold it – for twice what it was worth. He got paid more for his stories than I do.

That old man’s tag line might read, “You’re not only buying an item your buying the story with it.” (Sure he sold junk, but the stories and effort were priceless.)

“Maybe It’s Just Me…”

Blogs are flea markets. Sometimes you spin a little yarn to sell what you’re really up to.

The point made is that everybody has their niche. I have always seen things a bit differently. What that means is that I’m not often right. I have often used this phrase, “Maybe it’s just me and it usually is.” It is a phrase born out of honest reflection and frustration. That would be my tag line.

Like my post? Please support me by clicking on the Mersi button

Mersi ME!

Bloggers with tagline issues:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: Tagline « Mama Bear Musings
  2. Madder than the Hatter | Daily Prompt: Tagline | likereadingontrains
  3. Taglines : Me by them | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Daily Prompt: Tagline | Mindful Splatter
  5. My Tag Line | Right Down My Alley
  6. Live, laugh, love… | Relax…
  7. Tag, I’m it | Nanuschka’s Blog
  8. Raging Bull [Daily Prompt: Tagline] | unknowinglee
  9. Daily Prompt: Tagline | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  10. Phoneography Weekly: The light in dining halls |
  11. Blogging Is Like A Flea Market | The Jittery Goat
  12. Tagging me | 2 times pink
  13. Tagline: It’s All About Me | Mary Angelini Photography
  14. Daily Prompt – “All Humans Need Their Oil Changed” | Create & Motivate!
  15. Tagline: It’s All About Me | Mary Angelini Photography
  16. The Gray Zone | meanderedwanderings
  17. I’ll stick to what I’ve got. For now, thanks. | thoughtsofrkh
  18. The Grown up Kid | Daily Prompt : Tagline | Thoughts
  19. If I Were a Tagline | New Visions
  20. Daily Prompt: Tagline | The Blogging Path
  21. Daily Prompt: Tagline | I Work for a Jerk
  22. Catherine B.’s Blog | My Opinion Not Yours | Daily Prompt: Taglines
  23. Over and over again… | Random, Assorted and Miscellaneous Thoughts
  24. The Tagline I Come With | Things To Rave About
  25. No advertisement please | Spunky Wayfarer
  26. Just Another Bloke | Tony’s Texts
  27. Daily Prompt: Tagline | Musings&Rants
  28. Daily Prompt: Tagline | Lines by Linda
  29. I Am NOT A Bottle of Wine | Spirit Lights The Way
  30. Daily Prompt: Tagline | The Educated Illiterates
  31. the UNCATEGORISED: Daily Prompt | Tagline | the TRASH BASH
  32. How do you tag a person like this guy? | Rob’s Surf Report
  33. I’m alive | Vivir, que no es poco
  34. Think Liquid | Daily Prompt: Tagline | so i wrote
  35. Old Soul… | Haiku By Ku
  36. My Tagline: Daily Prompt | BLUE BEAD PUBLICATIONS
  37. Daily Prompt: Tagline | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  38. Sam McManus: Writer | Sam’s Online Journal
  39. Its all in a tag – describing me. | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  40. My Life’s Tagline | Thriving Pessimist…
  41. Love Until Injustice Do Us Part | windandlaughter
  42. A tagline for humans | tornin2’s Blog
  43. A tagline for humans | tornin2’s Blog
  44. Tagline | Going New Places!
  45. Tagline | The self sufficient single mother
  46. Daily Prompt: Tagline — TAG! I’m It! | cinnwriterblog
  47. Daily Prompt : Tagline | The Bluebird of Happiness 幸福
  48. Daily Prompt: Dear Telephone Solicitor | My Daily Prompt Blog
  49. Daily Prompt: Tagline | Borneo Rainbow
  50. Daily Prompt: Tagline | Exploring Utah with MS and Apples
  51. Daily Prompt: Tagline | Under the Monkey Tree
  52. Daily Prompt: Tagline | Morrighan’s Muse
  53. Tagline Me . . . | A Short A Day
  54. Meet the Family… | The Rider
  55. My Endless Rants & Ramblings
  56. Blessed Beyond Belief | Prayers and Promises
  57. Daily Prompt: “Let the Works I Do Speak for Me” | One Starving Activist
  58. Tagline | The Nameless One
  59. My Human Tagline: Loquacious Indian Brat | Nerd.Laugh.Love
  60. Daily Prompt: Tagline – Go with the flow! | SERENDIPITY
  61. Im Bebe and you know it | Ericka Mercado
  62. Tagline? Bah! | djgarcia94
  63. Daily Prompt: Tagline | My Tropical Home
  64. Daily Prompt: Tagline – show us ADVERTISING. | masadiso79’s Blog
  65. All I really need to know I learned at Jin Jins | Thin spiral notebook
  66. MESS IN A DRESS | hastywords
  67. Reckless Dreamer, Life’s Lover, with a Hopeless addiction to Pink | Lewis Cave
  68. Daily Prompt: Tagline | Everyday Adventures
  69. Daily Prompt (Tagline: The Bad Seed) | Iam Who Iam
  70. Daily Post – Advertising Buddhist Style! | Cozy Compulsions @ Midnight
  71. I can’t make a decision | hansolosvagina
  72. Daily Prompt: Tagline | itisnotaboutmeblog
  73. Tagline: Mantra – For Your Pleasure & Delight | Khana’s Web
  74. Never s-TAG-nate | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  75. 165. Tagline | Sofie’s Diary
  76. Smorgasbord | mycookinglifebypatty
  77. Window | Daily Prompt: Tagline | My Penned Creations
  78. Daily Prompt: Tagline | The corner of my imagination
  79. Daily Prompt: Tagline / Advertising | Postcards from
  80. Daily Prompt: Tagline- Credit Note Girl | Expressions
35 comments

  1. What a wonderful angle and idea on blogging. Exactly, it is a flea market, the customers all have their own tastes and trying to meet their tastes is one of the biggest adventures in blogging.

  2. I always say everyone has a story to tell. The flea market analogy is brilliant. I felt so lost when I joined the site and it took a while to catch on, even though I still don’t know how to do quite a number of things, ping backs being the top one.

  3. Maybe it IS just you, but your story sold me on the flea-market analogy. I always include links to four other posts when I publish my Daily Prompt post. I choose four that particularly engaged me for whatever reason. Yours made the cut. Maybe it’s just me, but I suspect my readers might particularly enjoy this.

  4. Love this analogy! And it is absolutely true. I am new to the blogging community but in the short while I’ve been here, I’ve definitely been trying to find some good stories to pass along with my “goods” lol

  5. I’m going to steel that – spin a little yarn to sell what I’m really after … my favorite post thus far 🙂 I was a little late in adding my two cents to this topic – but had to finally jump in. Cheers!

Blather away, if you like.

