A Letter To An Indecisive Employee

Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out

Write a letter to the personality trait you like least, convincing it to shape up or ship out. Be as threatening, theatrical, or thoroughly charming as is necessary to get the job done.

Dear Evan A. Klue

Recently it has become apparent we must talk face to face. We must come to grips with a recurring and persistent problem.

I have openings on Tuesday at 3:00 PM, Wednesday 9:15 AM, or Friday at 11:45 AM. I’ll leave the time up to you.

The subject matter is your ability or should I say your lack of ability to stick with a project and decisions you make. It is creating frustration among the team and I’ve come across several complaints not only from them but also our customers.

Last quarter we set a goal of 10% over the same previous quarter from last year or it may have been our best quarter we wanted to top. Either way, a week later I sent out a memo that reevaluated that figure to 7.7 % because I failed to factor-in our down-sizing. After considering the new project we were handed by corporate I found it necessary to again adjust downward our projection to 5.5%. You came in at the end of the quarter with a 6.1% increase, far below my last 12% memo. The increase was due to a carry-over from the previous quarter.

As you can easily see your performance drug our team effort down.

This may sound petty, but I think this characterizes the frustration I am experiencing with you. The first of the year corporate allocated funds for me to take my team out for lunch. I told the team they could order anything they wanted. If you recall you ordered fresh scallops. They were out of season. You than ordered the lobster tail and filet mignon. That took us over budget. I suggested the fajitas, but reminded you that may cause gas. I offered the onion burger platter, but also informed you about the big meeting in the afternoon with our best client; it would not be appropriate to have onion on your breath. At the last-minute you settled on pea soup. Your inability to stick to something is causing an uproar even in social settings.

I hope we can come to an understanding. This is not the way we do things at Decision Consultants Inc.

Very truly yours,

N. D. “Cy” Sevness

PS. Just got a note about the Friday appointment. That’s off the board; I got racquetball with Steve in accounting or golf with Curt in research. On second thought, let’s shoot for the week of the 22nd instead.

PSS. Why not handle it this way; just work on it.

Other bloggers with issues:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Everyone Shape Up or Ship Out | Geek Ergo Sum
  2. Dear Insecurity | Taking time, making time
  3. To the Unknown Cheerleader | Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out | likereadingontrains
  4. Daily Prompt: Ugly | Postcards from
  5. Everything is going to be okay… | Hope* the happy hugger
  6. Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out – show us UGLY. | masadiso79’s Blog
  7. Shape up or ship out sugar cravings | Now Have At It!
  8. Dear Mr. Fearful [Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out] | unknowinglee
  9. Who’s In Charge Here??? | Spirit Lights The Way
  10. A Letter To An Indecisive Employee | The Jittery Goat
  11. These Words for YOU | floatingsheep
  12. The Toothpaste Again | Lewis Cave
  13. Daily Prompt: Shape Up Or Ship Out, Mr. Anger | Creative Mysteries
  14. Yeah, I’m talkin’ to you | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  15. Daily Prompt; Shape Up or Ship Out | terry1954
  16. Daily Prompt: Ugly | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  17. Shape Up or Ship Out | The Nameless One
  18. Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out « Mama Bear Musings
  19. Daily Prompt: There’s the door, now leave! | Thriving Pessimist…
  20. Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out | Musings&Rants
  21. Daily Prompt: Just Ship Out! | Musings&Rants
  22. Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out | writinglikeastoner
  23. Dear Depression | Random Obsession
  24. Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out | Exploring Utah with MS and Apples
  25. Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out | The Educated Illiterates
  26. a letter to myself (in a way) | thematticuskingdom
  27. It’s better to feel pain. | BORNTOBEAFAN
  28. Catherine B.’s Blog | Dear Doubt | Daily Prompt | Shape up or Ship Out
  29. Daily Prompt: Dear John Letter | My Daily Prompt Blog
  30. Mugshots are ugly |
  31. An End to Needless Worry | Required Writing
  32. Anxiety… | Haiku By Ku
  33. Shape up or ship out | Nanuschka’s Blog
  34. A Letter To My Inner Critic | Self-Help for Creatively Deprived
  35. Dear Mr.Impulsive | Everyday Adventures
  36. “What??” | Relax…
  37. It’s time to say farewell my friend Intensity | tornin2’s Blog
  38. Who is that? | That Socially Anxious Atheist Paranoid Gay
  39. Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  40. Me, Ugly | clarior e tenebris
  41. Dear Laziness | Random, Assorted and Miscellaneous Thoughts
  42. Daily Prompt: Letter to CLIG (Can’t Let It Go) | Iam Who Iam
  43. When I freestyle, I lose … confidence (There’s a picture of New York) | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  44. Internal memorandum to fear | A beetle with earrings
  45. Daily Prompt: Dear Impatience… | One Starving Activist
  46. Shape Up or Ship Out: Who Are We Today Then? | Khana’s Web
  47. Phonophobia, pick up all ready, will you?
  48. Letter to Stubborness (A Daily Post Response) | Maggie’s Writing
  49. Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out | I Work for a Jerk
  50. Act 3, Scene 1: Scent | Romance Without Words
  51. A jail without windows | Vivir, que no es poco
  52. The DAILY POST daily prompt: Temper, temper | a seriously writing woman
  53. Devil | The Optimist
  54. The Summer Ninjas are Coming, Little Lupie! | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  55. Sorry, I couldn’t understand… | Seven Lines
  56. Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out | Lines by Linda
  57. Dear Anxiety | mobibrad
  58. Quiet Little Voices | a former clarity
  59. Dear Laziness. « kiyudesu
  60. Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship out | BLUE BEAD PUBLICATIONS
  61. Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out | The corner of my imagination
  62. Dear Vain Pain | meanderedwanderings
  63. Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out | Taking One Day At A Time
  64. Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out | New Lease–Same Hope
  65. Daily Prompt: Ugly | Morrighan’s Muse

Like my post? Please support me by clicking on the Mersi button

Mersi ME!

15 comments

  1. Decisions are definitely difficult.
    I’ve been learning to wait a few seconds before I make a decision – those few 10 seconds are crucial – and then when I make it, I will berate/remind myself NOT to change it (otherwise, boom, it’ll be the other choice). While this has been difficult, it seems to work wonders on the “make up your mind”. And if I decided against it and then thought otherwise, I remind myself, “I chose this, so I’m going to stick with it because otherwise I’m going back on my own word” and that seems to have slowly begun solving the problem. The hardest part is definitely sticking to that choice; but you got to because the world isn’t going to wait for you to catch up (or what I need to tell myself constantly)

  2. To make a decision, flip a coin! When the coin is in the air it will be revealed to you what your heart is truly rooting for, and if the coin lands on the wrong option, the immediate disappointment you feel is the greatest proof of all as to what you want your decision should be.
    Enjoyed your post, very entertaining 🙂

  3. Thanks for capturing the frustration I have had with previous bosses/colleagues about THEIR lack of ability to make decisions and stick to them…
    …and them blame me and/or others, who try all along to follow instructions…and wish mind reading were possible, although it would not necessarily help matters…
    Very humorous post. 🙂

  4. Thanks for capturing the frustration I have had with previous bosses/colleagues about THEIR lack of ability to make decisions and stick to them…
    …and them blame me and/or others, who try all along to follow instructions and wish mind reading were possible, although it would not necessarily help matters…
    Very humorous post. 🙂

Blather away, if you like.

