My First Search For God

Daily Prompt: In Good Faith

Describe a memory or encounter in which you considered your faith, religion, spirituality — or lack of — for the first time.

What follows is an excerpt from my novel The Summer or ‘62. The excerpt is autobiographical.

I was alone. I didn’t know for how long, but I think it was for some time. I went back to my room and leafed through volume ‘S’ of the World Book Encyclopedia. I was nearing the end of my quest to read the entire set of encyclopedias. I read about Spain. There was an aerial picture of a bull fighting arena in Cadiz. I imagined walking the streets of Cadiz. I heard music and polite people greeting me. That is where my royal Spanish parents lived who lost me at birth and I was taken to the United States by anti-Franco sympathizers for safety sake. I was not Rich Larson, but Juan Gomez. My room began to warm from the sun and no breeze was coming through the window. I decided to go to a place that was always cool and refreshing, a place to relax and dream – the meadow.

The meadow was a mile from our farm. About a hundred sheep grazed there in serenity. It was bordered on the west by interstate seventy-five, on the south by old state route twenty-five, to the north by State Road, and to the south by a farm. The meadow was sixty acres of low laying pasture good only for grazing. A stream split the meadow in half. Two creeks converged just before old state route twenty-five to form one and then passed under a bridge and into the meadow. The water moves fast until mid summer, then it slows to a trickle. The stream pours over rocks and lazily winds through the meadow. Two willows about a third of the way into the meadow forms an arch over the steam. It was cool there. It was a place where troubles are discharged and diluted into the waters and carried into a river and far away. Beneath the willows was shade. I once stayed there to shelter myself from the rain. One time I lay there and went to sleep. The willow branches hung so low they were like a drape that hid you from the rest of the world. On the hottest day it was cool beneath its shade. The sheep kept the grass trim like a manicured lawn of a royal estate. I thought of it as a kingdom and I the sovereign. I was a good king and it was a model land. There was not one inch of that meadow that needed change or improvement. It was perfect. Sheep have a way of gracing the landscape, they give it balance, completeness, and an acuity of security. Sheep can’t dwell in danger.

Beneath the willow I lay with my head resting against the trunk musing the activities of the previous evening. A cool breeze excited the small willow leaves and they shimmered and tinkled like tiny wind chimes. Flowing water from the stream splattered and trickled over smooth speckled rocks near my feet. A twig navigated the small rapids and floated hurriedly away until it lodged against a small patch of grass that stood alone like an island in the middle stream. In the distance was the occasional soothing bleat of gentle restful sheep. How will my Dad redeem himself? Will it be kind words? Will it be a gift? Never with an apology – never. Suddenly it came to me, two men in my life, one with the inability to say “Thank you” and the other with the inability to say “I’m sorry.” If I come to be known for any extraordinary measure in my life it will be for nothing if I am not known for saying “Thank you” and “I’m sorry.” But what about now? A cord has been severed – a sacred trust broken. How can I make sense of the dichotomy of thought in my mind. I know the man really loves me, but how can he act in such a shameful and repulsive manner? Is it evil? Even evil men have a huge capacity for compassion and love. Is it insanity? If so it can’t be helped, it is a disease of the mind. One thing is for certain, it is not normal. It is destructive. Why can’t he see what he is doing to Mom and me and change or just go away? I looked up through the maze of branches and caught an occasional peek of the sky as the breezes parted the tiny slivers of willow leaves. Clouds hypnotically floated by to places beyond the horizon. Can God see me? Is he looking down as I am looking up? Does he see my pain and sorrow.

“Dear God please help me,” I muttered and fell asleep.

Bloggers with faith:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith – show us FAITH. | masadiso79’s Blog
  2. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith | The Educated Illiterates
  3. I don’t believe | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Daily Prompt : In Good Faith / Iman | bambangpriantono
  5. Run. Wildly. Crazily. |
  6. Dad’s Flag Day | Misifusa’s Blog
  7. My First Search For God | The Jittery Goat
  8. The Day I lost my Faith, A Little | Things To Rave About
  9. The day I think I finally got it
  10. Daily Prompt: Faith | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  11. Faith… | ilargia64
  12. Keeping Faith Close at Hand | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  13. Faithfully Named | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  14. Daily Prompt: A Test Of Faith | My Daily Prompt Blog
  15. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith | The Blogging Path
  16. Daily Post daily photo prompt: faith | It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see – Thoreau
  17. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith | The Evolving Dad
  18. Deconverted: A Story of My Journey To Atheism | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  19. My Run-In with the Lord [Daily Prompt: In Good Faith] | unknowinglee
  20. Have a little faith! | Nanuschka’s Blog
  21. Daily Prompt: Growing Up Without Religion | Left to Write
  22. Under the Covers | Mixing Chicory
  23. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith « Gleaning the Nuggets
  24. I will never forget that… | Hope* the happy hugger
  25. Under the Covers | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  26. Sorta-Ginger | Firmly Agnostic
  27. I Cannot Believe in Miracles | The Mercenary Researcher
  28. The Ten Commandments | From Five to Fifty
  29. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  30. Lord, I Believe, Help Thou Mine Unbelief | Living the Whole
  31. How a Bullet Changed My Faith | Lewis Cave
  32. Sure of What We Do Not See | Nine Year Pregnancy
  33. Haiku By Ku
  34. A lady with wings, on a dark bridge | Relax…
  35. “The God of the Old Testament is arguably the most unpleasant character in all fiction.” -Richard Dawkins | Musings of a Muggle in Converse
  36. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith | Alastair’s Blog
  37. Daily Prompt: In God I trust | Thriving Pessimist…
  38. Daily Prompt: Faith | Postcards from
  39. For The Love Of Faith (Short Story) | Creative Mysteries
  40. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith | Completely Disappear
  41. St. Agnes Tower | Forest So Green
  42. Have a little bit of faith… | The Rider
  43. Daily Prompt: Lack of Faith in Everything (except . . . ) | Iam Who Iam
  44. Daily Prompt: Bad Things Don’t Happen for a Reason | Jane’s Journal
  45. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith – Letting Go | SERENDIPITY
  46. Hineni – “Here I am” | Icescreammama
  47. Grandma Has Landed | Icescreammama
  48. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith/My Testimony | Musings&Rants
  49. Tents, Faith and Scripture Memorization | D squared + J squared = Anderson
  50. Faith in Ireland | Daily Prompt: In Good Faith | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis and Me
  51. Fighting hate | Vivir, que no es poco
  52. Fire and Fragrance | Prayers and Promises
  53. The Daily Post Daily Prompt: A Question of Faith | a seriously writing woman
  54. In Good Faith | The Nameless One
  55. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith | New Lease–Same Hope
  56. DEVIL IS IN THE DETAILS | Standing Ovation, Seated
  57. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith | A Hedonistic Wander
  58. Losing My Religion, Finding My Truth | Compass & Quill
  59. Candle in the Darkness | Travellin’ Thru Rambles
  60. My Faith | A Teacher’s Blog
  61. A lack of faith or a leap of hope? | tornin2’s Blog
  62. You’ve Gotta Have Faith… Don’t You? | The Office of Iguana Flats
  63. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith | Someday I Will Learn
  64. Daily Prompt: Finding Faith | One Starving Activist
  65. The Long Bumpy Road to the Corners of Faith and Despair. | pandora’s island 2
  66. Picturing faith | eljaygee
  67. Whistling downwind | Tell Tale Therapy
  68. a Sufi’s take on faith | Following the trail of Ibn Battuta
  69. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith « Mama Bear Musings
  70. When did we last? | A garland of words
  71. In Good Faith: Discovering Hinduism | Khana’s Web
  72. Daily Prompt: In Good Faith | The Tarot Alchemist
  73. God Was There in That Psych Ward | tarpfrog
  74. In and Out of Faith | Brother Jon
  75. For The Faint Of Heart | Here’s My Heart & Here’s My Mouth

 

Like my post? Please support me by clicking on the Mersi button

Mersi ME!

16 comments

  1. I think of myself as one withOUT faith. Your post reminded me, though, that I DO have faith in rivers and oceans to teach me everything I need to know through their behavior. Now, if I can only remember to look and listen (as you did to the peak of sky through the breeze-parted leaves)

    • Yet, if one fails to get to know him through the written word it is like seeing a movie with no sound or subtitles. The Bible gives depth, texture, and color.
      (Psalm 8:3) 3 “When I see your heavens, the works of your fingers, The moon and the stars that you have prepared,”

  2. I’m not really sure when I ever really started to whole-heartedly believe in God or Jesus. I remember being saved at 15 when I attended a Christian Bible Camp. As I grew older, I started wondering, ‘ If God created everything, who created him? ‘ That question ultimately led to my fall. I stopped believing in the Bible, prayer, and pretty much everything having to do with a higher being. A few years later, the answer came to me. On Earth, we measure everything by time, because it’s logical to our human brains. In eternity, there is no such thing as time, so God never had a beginning, and he will never have an end. 🙂

    • Interesting and logical from our standpoint. If the Bible said so and so created God our next question would be who created so and so? Than it would have to tell us so and so and so created so and so. The questions would go on for – eternity. The Bible simply states at Psalm 90 he is from everlasting to everlasting. It is interesting that some scientist tell us there are places in the universe where time does not exist; almost an illogical concept in our minds. God living where time does not exist may explain why he can listen to all prayers.

      • Exactly! I just put my trust in God, and try not to think about things too much. That’s what gets me into trouble, is my brain. 🙂

Blather away, if you like.

