I Never Write About Sex

Daily Prompt: Never

Tell us about a thing you’ll never write about.

The interactions and actions of characters to a situation is the most powerful drama that can be written. The one word, the one look, to a writer it’s like a flower that unfolds.

The brilliance of writing well is doing so in such a way that the mind is drawn into the scene with as few words as possible. Leave all the fancy words to people who write lies in those vacation magazines.

A few years ago a writer was working on a detective novel. He sent a few sample chapters. The story was compelling. In one scene a detective brings in a beautiful female suspect for questioning. He used two pages to develop an antagonistic relationship between them. He wanted some advice on how to make it more intense and shorter. I suggested this shorter version:

“What is your name?”

“Gabriel,”

“Do some people call you Gabby?”

“Yes.”

“Gabby, do you know why you’re here.”

“Gabriel.”

Gabriel said three words yet spoke volumes. Why? Because we know the look on her face, we know the look on the detective’s face, we can feel the tension in the room, and we can even imagine the physical posture of the characters.

He didn’t like it and wrote another page of ranting and cursing characters.

I am cautious about bad language also. I once wrote a chapter in a novel. The chapter was based on real characters and events. The language used by one character was raw and unedited. It wasn’t my writing, it wasn‘t me. Sure I know it was the character speaking, but it’s on my page!

I revised it:

Jason looked at me and hurled a string of vulgar cursing. I’d never recalled seeing him so infuriated.

I became fearful for his health, but not enough so that I refrained from offering an innocent sarcastic recommendation, “You really should invest in a dictionary. You have trouble distinguishing adjectives from obvious verbs.”

There are some things you don’t have to write about. The reader’s imagination is probably better and more gifted than your own words. They may have seen more sunrises, sunsets, beautiful mountains, trickling creeks, placid meadows, and may even live in a sleepy little village that you are trying do describe to the point of nausea. Sex does not have to be described for the very reasons given in the last sentence.

“He gazed at her like a thousand tomorrows would never arrive, followed by one kiss after another. Suddenly it was morning.”

Your characters could have fallen asleep. Who cares? The point is that you feel their emotional connection. To me that’s all that needs to be described.

If a character jumps from the thirtieth floor I don’t need to know how the impact felt. I know already, it hurt like the dickens – but not for long.

Bloggers who never…:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: Never | Exploring Utah with MS and Apples
  2. never | charlottesville winter
  3. Daily Prompt: Never « Mama Bear Musings
  4. Daily Prompt: Never | Of Glass & Paper
  5. Daily Prompt: Never | LooknWalk
  6. Daily Prompt: Never | Stevie’s Words
  7. I can’t | Vivir, que no es poco
  8. The Letter That Killed Me | Daily Prompt: Never | likereadingontrains
  9. Daily Prompt: Never | unknowinglee
  10. Sorta-Ginger | Return of the Counter-Productive Prompt!
  11. The Forbidden Field | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  12. What I Won’t Write | Maggie’s Stories
  13. What I would never write about… | Hope* the happy hugger
  14. Seldom | Spunky Wayfarer
  15. Daily Prompt: Never | A Good One
  16. Never: Regrets | Mary Angelini Photography
  17. Never!!! | Nanuschka’s Blog
  18. Daily Prompt: The Dreaded Olive | Mama Spaghetti
  19. the north remembers | Je ne sais quoi
  20. Never say never (Daily Prompt) | The Rider
  21. Yes, that. | Relax…
  22. I Never Write About Sex | The Jittery Goat
  23. Serene silence | A beetle with earrings
  24. Daily Prompt – Never | kalabalu
  25. Daiy Prompt: Never | Maggie’s Blog
  26. I will never write about Politics | My thought exactly…!
  27. ROAD AHEAD CLOSED | Standing Ovation, Seated
  28. Wondering What? | Tommia’s Tablet
  29. I will never be (legally) his: Daily prompt “Never” | Texan in Tokyo
  30. Never Say Never – CombatBabe
  31. Keeping you a Secret | The Bluebird of Happiness 幸福
  32. The Morning After | Lewis Cave
  33. Never. | ayimas
  34. Never (not for you) | Quill Takes Flight
  35. Daily Prompt: Never | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  36. Flying On Empty Thoughts | The Clichéd Undead.
  37. Daily Prompt – Never | Cyntech
  38. I never write about … (Undecided) | theconsciouswriter
  39. June Daily Prompt: My Day is MAYDAY to Post | Portofolio Prita
  40. Daily Prompt: Never | Basically Beyond Basic
  41. Daily Prompt: Never | From Slacker To Scribe
  42. Daily Prompt: Never | The Educated Illiterates
  43. Daily Prompt: Never Say Never Again | Angelyn’s Crimes of Passion
  44. Never would have imagined 🙂 | MindBlur
  45. Daily Prompt: Forbidden | Morrighan’s Muse
  46. Daily Prompt: Are Philias Taboo? | Iam Who Iam
  47. What Not to Say | doctorandmrso
  48. This Rain… Never | Hasta Que mi Corazón Explote… | Until my Heart Explodes…
  49. Daily Story A Day 5 June 2013: Never Pesevered | One Starving Activist
  50. No Sex Please, We’re British! | Clive’s Blog
  51. Dazed & Confused | Daily Prompt: Never | Words From The Desk Of An Insomniac
  52. Words Forbidden | Metal Angel
  53. Daily Prompt: Never | A Small Press Life
  54. Longing | Sincerely, Ms. Roberts
  55. I am an adult now and still I cannot tell. | My thoughts on a page.
  56. Daily Prompt: Never | sophie vibes
  57. Verboten and Touchy Subjects | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  58. Never? Well, not likely. And certainly not in great detail. | thoughtsofrkh
  59. The daily post: forbidden | MyBlog – solaner
  60. DAILY PROMPT- NEVER – GOD | The be-all and end-all
  61. Daily Prompt: Never | Everyday Adventures
  62. Daily Prompt: Hush, Hush | Bullets and Hearts
  63. I’ll Never Tell Except When I Do | sandylikebeach
  64. Feeling Cranky | Front Porches and Candlelight
  65. Never ever. Do you hear me? NEVER! (the tricky DAILY POST’S tricky daily prompt) | a seriously writing woman
  66. Never | Travellin’ Thru Rambles
  67. Never, Nefre, Not Ever | Donbury Pond
  68. Daily Prompt: Forbidden | six degrees photography
  69. Daily Prompt: Never | The Tarot Alchemist
  70. Never: Never Say Never | Khana’s Web
  71. Thank You, NaBloPoMo | The New Stream of Conscience
  72. Daily Prompt: Forbidden | More than a Cat
  73. The Things We Just Don’t Say | Compass & Quill
  74. Daily Prompt: Never (Say Never) | Under the Monkey Tree
  75. Words I Promise to Never Use | The Grizzly Kid
  76. That’s why NEVER! | Journey Called Life …
  77. Never and Slightly Ever | Right The Writer
  78. Daily Prompt: Never | The corner of my imagination
  79. Daily Prompt: Never | The Blogging Path
  80. Wherein he Gets the Girl | Babsje Heron
  81. never say never | memoirs of an unremarkable man

Like my post? Please support me by clicking on the Mersi button

Mersi ME!

25 Comments

  1. I absolutely love your response to the Daily Post. I have a habit of writing EXACTLY like I talk, which is a lot. I’ve been told by numerous professors to taper down my wording because half of what I say is already in there and implied. This is wonderful and a great reminder for me!

  2. I like a lot what you say in this article. I think is an elegant way of writing many people should appreciate. Thank you for explaining it. I enjoyed your post.

  3. I really enjoy what you share with us, I learn something new every time I read them. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Awesome post! Honestly, I rather it written this way… it leaves room for our own (the reader’s) imagination to kick in and fill the blanks. Mystery is much more moving than precise overly descriptive depictions.

    1. I recall a critic saying my characters are always eating. I wrote back yours are always having sex. Which is more reasonable to believe takes place more frequently.

  5. It is a pure coincedence that my response to today’s DP was about goats and sex. And I absolutely enjoyed reading your post. Fell in love with the Gabby dialogue. Went to Amazon to look up your book )

  6. Great piece! While I do not mind all sex in books, I do take offense when authors “tell rather than show”. Concise, subtle writing is my favorite flavor. I like to work for my own answers and interpretations. It sounds like you have this skill. 🙂

Blather away, if you like.

