The Treasure In Owl’s Head, Maine

General Store, Owl's Head, Maine, where angels tread.
General Store, Owl’s Head, Maine, where angels tread.

Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap

What’s your dream tourist destination — either a place you’ve been and loved, or a place you’d love to visit? What about it speaks to you?

There is something about the coast of Maine that beckons my wife and I. During the nineties we spent several falls their. We purposely chose the week beyond what the prediction was for the peak foliage. The reason is that we still wanted to catch the beauty of the brightly colored leaves, but without the convergence of tourist – like us.

My wife and I can find a secluded spot with a view of the ocean and the pounding or lapping waves and be perfectly content. A bottle of wine, some cheese, a spread of jelly, a blanket, crackers and leave us alone.

We found a few spots like that in Maine. Places where no one else would think of going.

It might sound as though we don’t like to be bothered by people; not so. We want to speak only when spoken to and we want our people that way to. Maine for the most part is like that. That’s what makes the coast so inviting to us; it is really the people. They are so genuinely friendly, but first you must enter their space. They are far too polite to be intrusive to you. At least, that is our experience.

From time to time I hear stories about how cold and unfriendly people on the east coast can be. Let me share a story:

We got a late start one day. We were heading to Port Clyde. It is a sleepy little village quintessential of what one might think for the east coast. (I hate that term ‘sleepy little,’ just thought I’d throw it in to give the place the charm most would recognize.)

On the way there, believe it or not, I got lost. In Owl’s Head we saw a little place. It was a grocery/post office/hardware/restaurant. I went in looking for directions.

Behind the counter was small man with a near angel appearance. He was preparing sandwiches at the grill, likely for a lunchtime rush. His smile was warm, friendly, and kind. His hair was soft and white like cotton. His face was small and smooth.

He slowly walked to the counter. “Let me guess,” he said. “You’re lost.”

“Yes,” I smiled. “I’m heading to Port Clyde.”

He stood on his tiptoes and craned his neck to look at my car with my wife inside. Then he looked me over. “You and your wife look like good folks. Rather than go home after your vacation why don’t you just move here. We’d love to have ya.”

I hesitated. “That’s the nicest thing anyone has ever said to me.”

“Really,” he said. “We’d love to have you.” He than gave me directions to Port Clyde.

When my wife and I go anyplace it is never the scenery, it is the people. You can buy pictures of places or commit them to memory, but you can’t buy or take a picture of a warm experience like that.

Trapped bloggers:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | The Blogging Path
  2. 3|6 Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | family photos food & craft
  3. Meteora, Greece | Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | likereadingontrains
  4. Tourist Trap | Nanuschka’s Blog
  5. I want to go! | Hope* the happy hugger
  6. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap « Mama Bear Musings
  7. Oh Dear! Trap Me Here! | Bullets and Hearts
  8. Far, Far Away, In A Town By The Sea | Self-Help for Creatively Deprived
  9. The Treasure In Owl’s Head, Maine | The Jittery Goat
  10. Oh the places I want to go… | Geek Ergo Sum
  11. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | بيسان
  12. The Sunshine State | Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | Words From The Desk Of An Insomniac
  13. for christopher while sleeping | charlottesville winter
  14. Iceland | Bubonicboon
  15. Daily Prompt: Taking A Vacation | My Daily Prompt Blog
  16. Vacation – desire | elspethc
  17. A waterfall – tourist trap | MyBlog – solaner
  18. Baedeker And Beyond | Tony’s Texts
  19. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap – The Hell | Rolbos ©
  20. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | The Educated Illiterates
  21. A Gift in the Woods | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  22. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  23. Vacation is Poetry Lived | Donbury Pond
  24. Iditarod… | Haiku By Ku
  25. the river | thematticuskingdom
  26. New York New York..so good they named it twice..Daily Prompt. | heysugarsugar
  27. An unorganized visit to Croatia | Vivir, que no es poco
  28. Jaydon and Daddy play in the sand and surf at Folly Beach | The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy
  29. To Ryanair, a Muted Monologue | being mrscarmichael
  30. Tourist Trap or Not | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  31. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | suzie81’s Blog
  32. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | My Endless Rants & Ramblings
  33. British Summer | Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | mattsden101
  34. Someday, someday! | Lesie’s World
  35. A “God-breathed” land.. | Relax…
  36. Destination | Spunky Wayfarer
  37. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap — Williamsburg, Virgina | SERENDIPITY
  38. Duck Tales | DarkStarBurning
  39. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | Simplexvita
  40. the DAILY POST daily prompt: TOURIST TRAP | a seriously writing woman
  41. Beyond the Shadowlands . . . | meanderedwanderings
  42. Weekly Photo Challenge: Tourist Trap | Svetlana’s Photography
  43. Daily Prompt: Vacation | It’s a New Moon
  44. Immersed In A World | Daily Prompt: Tourist Destination | Kyla Danica
  45. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | The Tarot Alchemist
  46. Daily Prompt: Escaping the Nightmare Through Dream Destinations | Iam Who Iam
  47. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | Stevie’s Words
  48. Daily Prompt; Tourist Trap | terry1954
  49. It’s 5 O’Clock Somewhere… | HpWpBp
  50. Tourist Trap: Akka, Akko, Acre | Khana’s Web
  51. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | Nerdmoot
  52. I’ve been to Alderaan places…… | hansolosvagina
  53. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | The corner of my imagination
  54. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | Rêverie
  55. There’s nothing like Australia! – Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | Quirky Little Planet
  56. Daily Prompt: Tourist Trap | Basically Beyond Basic

Like my post? Please support me by clicking on the Mersi button

Mersi ME!

20 comments

  1. I think Maine would appeal to me as well. It just conjours up books by Stephen King . A sea beating aginst a mysteriious coastline and people having perhaps dark secrets. My imagination would go with the area. However, distant dreams being in Europe. Loved your article.

  2. I have been in Maine once when I worked in the US and I would like to go back. I enjoyed a lot reading your story. Thanks.

  3. Loved the story. I remember talking to a lady at a store who was on vacation, and who had moved to Maine from New Jersey, and she was telling me it was like another world, meaning that it was beautiful, with nice friendly people, and she even gave an example by telling me that people would leave their farm produce in front of their house, with a jar next to it, so you can take what you need and pay for it by depositing your money in the unattended jar. She was so thrilled with moving there and genuinely happy to have made that her home.
    It is funny also because this relates to my post today a bit.

  4. Sums up Maine! There are many of these lovely little general stores in Maine! As a native Whitefielder, I’d love to recommend the Alna Store and Husseys Hardware. Two experiences that should be had.

    • Thanks, I now live near the west coast and don’t foreseen any trips in the near future, but we plan to do so in about two years. I will write down you recommendations and try to fit them in our agenda.
      Thanks fro reading and being thoughtful enough to recommend something you hold dear.

Blather away, if you like.

