Driving With Sandy (short fiction)

Daily Prompt: The Zone

Tell us about your favorite way to get lost in a simple activity — running, chopping vegetables, folding laundry, whatever. What’s it like when you’re in “the zone”?

“I’m glad you don’t mind these drives with me, Sandy. I know there’s things you‘d rather be doing at home, but it will all be there tomorrow and I can help you with them. These drives with you just mean so much too me.”

“Look, Sandy, around the bend, just over the edge. Isn’t that a beautiful place. Out in the middle of nowhere, it’s so green and lush. Everything around it is dead. It’s a small ranch. He’s got a few head of cattle.”

“What’s that you say?”

“It’s all fed by a stream from the mountain to the south.”

“Ah, Sandy, if we had it to do over again I’d find us a place like that. We could have raised the kids in a place like that. Wouldn‘t that have been great?”

“Oh my, Sandy, to the west. Those are rain clouds. I bet they pass around to the north and miss us completely. We could use the rain, for sure.”

“Look at the sky to the south. It is so beautiful. Remember as kids laying in the grass and looking up at the sky making out objects from the clouds. What’s that you say? It did look like Richard Nixon; it had the little sky jump nose and everything.”

“Sure we were kids. Twenty-five is a kid.”

“We won’t drive to the canyon today or the mountains. I know how much that frightens you.”

“We’ll just drive this ole highway until we find a gas station. I’ll fill up and we’ll head back. That way we’ll see the other side of what we missed seeing on the drive out.”

“Do you want a coffee when we stop? You never do. I shouldn’t have asked.”

“”Look ahead, Sandy, the wind is picking up. That’s what’s pushing the rain north.”

“Oh look, Sandy! That’s antelope. There’s at least fifteen. Okay twenty-five, have it your way.”

“Sandy, I could just drive for miles. There is so much to see. It looks like nothing to most people, but it’s something to me. It is a way I clean my thoughts out of my head. It’s like a mental trash day. I go through my thoughts and decide what I want and what should be sat at the curb. I hope you don’t mind the ride. I do all the talking and you listen so patiently. You know I need this drive every now and then.”

“Yes, I know, tomorrow’s trash day.”

“I’m thinking it’s time for us to go visit one of the kids. It’s time for Mike. We haven’t seen him in a while.”

“I know it’s his turn, but it’s hard for him to get away. He has a demanding job.”

“No, I don’t want to go alone.”

“How’s that going to do me any good?”

“You have a point, Magan works and Mike and I could get away for some fishing. I’ll give it some thought and give Mike a call; I should run it by him first.”

“Yes, I know, it’s better than showing up at his front door with waders and a pole.”

Jim drove home and parked the car in the garage. He took Sandy’s picture from the passenger’s seat and hung it back on the wall in the living room. “It was a nice drive today, Sandy, I‘m going to take your advice.”

He dialed the phone. “Mike… Dad… Just took a drive and doing some thinking, could you take a couple days off and do some fishing?… That’s all I got is time… Let’s shoot for next month… No, not me, I’m not lonely.”

Zoned bloggers:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Come on, let’s go for a run. Yes, right now. | Icescreammama
  2. My Call of Duty | Icescreammama
  3. When You Are In The Zone | Things To Rave About
  4. The Pistol at Beginning of the Race (Go Straight Home Club) | Daily Prompt: The Zone | likereadingontrains
  5. A Daily Prompt For A Sunday Morning Musing | The Evolving Dad
  6. Triptych (Lost In Thought) | Daily Prompt: The Zone | mattsden101
  7. She’s Gone Missing | charlottesville winter
  8. Driving With Sandy (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  9. Love Music | Ms. Roberts
  10. Me Jane. | Relax…
  11. Daily Prompt: The Zone | I Work for a Jerk
  12. Lost | MyBlog – solaner
  13. The Stitchin’ Zone | A Good One
  14. Popular Culture and Zones to Lose Yourself In | Blue Loft
  15. Zoning out | Spunky Wayfarer
  16. Daily Prompt: The Zone | Stevie’s Words
  17. Lost in the Written Word | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  18. Winter walk [a sketch & some words] | so i wrote
  19. Daily Prompt: The Zone | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  20. Zen Mind… | Haiku By Ku
  21. The Daily Prompt: The Zone – Digging for Boulders | Required Writing
  22. Daily Prompt: The Zone | writinglikeastoner
  23. In The Zone | Code For Confession
  24. Daily Prompt: The Zone | The Educated Illiterates
  25. Lost | thoughtsofrkh
  26. Don’t help her, she’s lost | Lost in Adeline’s
  27. How To Get Lost | The Temenos Journal
  28. Forget the silver lining… |
  29. Daily Prompt: The Zone | Let There be Peace on Earth
  30. Escape (ism) | vixviews
  31. Lost writing | Vivir, que no es poco
  32. In Memoriam | Taking One Day At A Time
  33. Daily Post: Lost and Found | One Starving Activist
  34. Feeling the moonlight | Master Of Disaster
  35. Response to Daily Prompt: The Zone | bullyingdontstandbystepup
  36. Escaping with the Two Bobs (Short Fiction) | meanderedwanderings
  37. Where have you gone? | Sad Magic
  38. Lost | Vampire Maman
  39. In The Zone: Why I Run | Essence of Del
  40. The Zone: Zen Salad | Khana’s Web
  41. Urban Exploring (lost in a concrete jungle) | Topics of No Note Nonsense
  42. Twilight Zone | A Sign Of Life
  43. Daily Prompt: The Zone | The Tarot Alchemist
  44. Daily Prompt: The Zone/ Be Here Now | Overcoming Bloglessness
  45. My Light Zone | theeyelife
  46. Daily Prompt: The Zone | To Breathe is to Write
  47. In The Zone: Pre-Postulancy | Not The Sword But The Pen
  48. Close To The End Of The ZONE | The Bottom of a Bottle
  49. THE ZONE: a daily prompt post | Scribbling Gizmos
  50. Daily Prompt: The Zone | The corner of my imagination
  51. the UNCATEGORISED: Daily Prompt | The Zone | the TRASH BASH
  52. The Zone: A good book | Echoes and Whispers

7 comments

  1. Superb. Emotionally and mentally fulfilling. One of the best short stories I ever read. Perfectly delivered. Sometimes I read your stories to my wife and daughter. This one they will have to read for themselves. I am with Natasha on this one. Thank you.

    • Thanks Rog.
      If I can get one past you I can get it past anybody. No, I didn’t say that right, most generally everybody gets stuff past you. (Give a compliment and snatch it away.)

Blather away, if you like.

