Is Facebook Two-Faced?

imagesCAV3AZ33Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook

Facebook has recently come under attack for failing to enforce its own guidelines on hate speech and violent imagery. Is it a website’s job to moderate the content its users post, or should users have complete freedom? Is there a happy medium? If so, how would you structure it?

Founders and executives of social media sites have made billions from them. They are quick to donate to all sorts of charitable causes for the betterment of mankind. Would it not be in keeping with their love and concern for humanity to make certain to the best of their ability that they police themselves. The money they give away likely makes them feel better about turning a blind eye to activity that makes them billions.

Those geniuses figured out how to put it together, likely they know how to make it free from the things that cause offense. They just don’t have the will.

My Experience With Facebook

A couple of years ago I had a Facebook account. It was for the purpose of keeping friends and family who live great distances up-to-date.

After a couple of weeks I found it was taking a lot of time. My family, like me, had lives that didn’t interest me; as my life was of little or no interest to them. Yet, I thought it would be nice to spy in on them from time to time.

I don’t know of all the mechanics of Facebook, nor do I want to. It’s kind of like one of those situations if you know too much about something it means you don’t have a real life.

People, old friends and family, started ‘friending.’ I accepted their ‘friending.’ Their posts appeared on my page. Some I didn’t like. Someone said there is a way to block a post without ‘unfriending.’ But, I reasoned, wouldn’t they eventually know the action had been taken? It’s kind of like getting a letter and never opening it. I didn’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings.

Some of the postings contained vulgar and inappropriate language. In addition some disturbing illustrations and pictures came my way.

I considered posting a disclaimer. Yet, those pictures.

One in particular was of an infant with cancer. The origin was for a cancer research fund. It was well-meaning, but in my view inappropriate and disturbing.

Many might refer to me as religious. I read the Bible daily and speak about it openly to people, but I‘m careful not to take umbrage. I expect the same. I detest religious symbols, stories, experiences, and illustrations laced and dripping with sentimentality not based on things found in the Bible. These, likewise, found their way to my site.

There was little remaining for me to do. I closed my Facebook account.

I suppose there is a value in Facebook for some, but not me. I wanted to share some family stories with the younger generation in my family. I blogged about my Mom, Dad, and sisters. I set up a special blog for my family. I share some old photos and tell the story behind them. By blogging I control all the content and likewise others can visit or not.

Freedom of Facebook Bloggers?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Freedom of Facebook – I’m Afraid Of The Dark
  2. Be the Echo | Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook | likereadingontrains
  3. Freedom of Facebook | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Everyday Adventures | Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook
  5. 29.5 Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook | family photos food & craft
  6. Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook | Let There be Peace on Earth
  7. Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook « Mama Bear Musings
  8. Character Interview: Tessa from “Violet Ink” | Ramisa the Authoress
  9. Freedom of FaceBook | Angel Frouk
  10. Daily Prompt: Freedom Of Facebook | suzie81’s Blog
  11. Behavior Rating 101: A Daily Prompt Response | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  12. Is Facebook Two-Faced? | The Jittery Goat
  13. Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook or Facebook Hates Me | What a Witch
  14. “My arm-y up my sleeve-y!” | Relax…
  15. Freedom of Facebook « Overcoming to Becoming
  16. A Little Bit Free | Tony’s Texts
  17. Freedom of Facebook | Nanuschka’s Blog
  18. Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook | بيسان
  19. Daily Prompt: Regulations on Face Book | My Daily Prompt Blog
  20. Daily Prompt: Regulations on Face Book | My Daily Prompt Blog
  21. Facebook – the double-edged sword | New Visions
  22. his name was javier | charlottesville winter
  23. Enough is Enough, Facebook | Stuphblog
  24. Audacity With Parameters | I Am An After School Special
  25. Moderate yourself. | Hope* the happy hugger
  26. Daily Prompt meets Story A Day May #29: Enough of Facebook | One Starving Activist
  27. Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  28. Daily Prompt: Freedom Comes at a Price | Jane’s Journal
  29. Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook – Serendipity is my little world | SERENDIPITY
  30. Why I Quit Facebook | I Work for a Jerk
  31. the UNCATEGORISED: Daily Prompt | Freedom of Facebook | the TRASH BASH
  32. Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook | Basically Beyond Basic
  33. Facebook you do me wrong. | merleytwister
  34. Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook | Exploring Utah with MS and Apples
  35. Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook | On My Front Porch
  36. Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook | Free/Careless Speech? | The Writing Righter
  37. You do your bit and I’ll do mine. | thoughtsofrkh
  38. Bring out the duct tape | hansolosvagina
  39. The Saga of the Talking Tree | Donbury Pond
  40. Facebook Freedom isn’t Free | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  41. Daily Prompt: Facebook | A Healthy Big Gurl
  42. Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook | A Western Buddhist’s Travels
  43. Memo3 Stats , etc. (Opened May 26 , 2013 7:28 p.m. Hrs.) Interpol . . . Foreign Intelligence > Yemen Page | jjmjmm1
  44. Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook | Derby+Diapers+Daily
  45. Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook | The Tarot Alchemist
  46. Freedom of Facebook | Khana’s Web
  47. Faceless or Face-to-Face | Travellin’ Thru Rambles
  48. Daily Prompt: Freedom of Facebook | The Blogging Path
  49. Everything in moderation | Spunky Wayfarer
  50. Daily Prompt: FACEBOOK | The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel
19 comments

  1. I personally have a love/hate relationship with Facebook. I love because it is a way to stay up-to-date with family and for me close friends. I hate it because people use it as a means not to pick up the phone and call you and say, “hey”. From time-to-time articles pop up about are facebook friends really friends and when I see people that have hundreds of “friends” it’s pretty obivous it’s just a numbers game. Compared to my mere 70 “friends”, which is comprised of mostly family.

  2. I’ll keep my facebook page but as a new blogger, I find that I have much more freedom to share (hiding behind a pseudonym!) on my blog without alarming my friends and family with views that won’t be taken the right way. I’ll have to deal with my facebook friends’ rampant indiscretions as I can’t even think of the appropriate response to some of what I see on facebook.

  3. Good points, especially about the charity donations. In the early days of facebook, the content people posted was usual both interesting and thought through. Now I have unsubscribed to 80% of my friends news feeds. Sometimes I wonder why not unsubcribe the rest as well. I love them dearly in real life, but they are hard to love on facebook. I wish I could do as you and delete my account, but many of my good friends live abroad and facebook is the only way to stay in contact.

  4. I appreciate the way that you tell it like it is. I “unfriended” everyone on my Facebook account except the 7 closest family members whom I can count on to share things important to all of us and not offensive to anyone. I never accept friend requests from anyone else.

  5. Agree with what you said. I am more of a private person and don’t like to display every aspect of my life publicly. I definitely prefer emails as a way of communication. Once I was surprised to hear that one of my friends said that he was rubbish in checking emails, but with facebook message, he seemed to be able to reply and handle them quite well. It was interesting because I found there’s no significant differences between the two systems. Nevertheless, I like the wordpress blog, feeling that this is a space just belong to myself. I don’t even mind whether or not there is people visiting my site. It is a place where I can continue with writing, writing the life stories.

    Ps: It’s so lovely to read that you read your Bible daily and spoke openly about it. It’s so nice to read your article and meet you here. 🙂

  6. I’ve deactivated mine today – its not the first one either. It always causes arguments and drama and when people know your business the stick there nose in where its not wanted, misinterpret things and start rumours (read my newest post for a interesting view on rumours I think everyone affected by rumours will benefit from)

    I also think it consumes too much time especially in children where they could be being active, controlling their weight and fitness and doing homework or study and using their brains to the full capacity. Like gambling, world of warcraft, drinking and smoking, cheese and even toys of a certain type can become an obsession or addiction and facebook is both of these to many peop. How ridiculous? That’s why people let it go unnoticed.

    • Thanks for you comment. With my experience more could be written. I ran into the same drama you speak about. Even my blog people and family have tried to frame some sort of drama or intrigue from it.
      I’m getting too old for that kind of crap.

  7. Well said. No corporation, government or forum of any kind should presume to tell us who our “friends” are. Friends show by their friendship, of all things, who they are. I enjoy the phone call, e-mail, text. But most of all I relish the laughter, hug and firm shake. For me these are my “friends.”

Blather away, if you like.

