The Next Big “Thing” Will Be A “Thang” And What Was The First Big Thing?

They said this would be the only operating system I would ever need.
They said this would be the only operating system I would ever need.

Daily Prompt: The Next Big Thing

What will the next must-have technological innovation be? Jetpacks? Hoverboards? Wind-powered calculators?

They don’t even say “thing” anymore, don’t they say “thang?” Just thought I’d up date all of you still stuck in the first decade of the 21st century.

If one could see just far enough into the future and be able to figure out what the next big thing (or thang) will be. Who knows? Not me. I wait until the next big thing comes along and buy the previous next big thing (which is still a “thing” and not “a thang).

I’m no slave to this type of marketing manipulation. I never bought a ‘talkin’ fish,’ ‘the fat-burner pill,’ ‘chia pet,’ ‘pocket hose,’ or ‘sham-wow.’ It was 1982 before we had a color TV. If my old black and white picture tube had not cracked I would still be watching old episodes of Mash with gray blood.

I was very slow to get air-conditioning in our house and car. I thought FM radio was a needless luxury item for a car. When having just AM would cost more money I quickly revised my thinking. Suddenly I listened to PBS and started using words like ‘eclectic’ and ‘dystrophic.’ I know, I’m digressing.

Anyway, I got a computer in 1992. I refused to use Windows at first. I was DOS man. (Some people reading this will remember DOS from history. It happened soon after the Spanish Inquisition.) Finally I installed Windows 3.1. Life was good until one day I couldn’t access the Internet. I called my provider. They asked me what version of Windows I was using. I said 3.1. They didn’t remember that one. They weren’t sure it ever existed. I heard snickering in the background.

I miss 3.1. Heck, I miss my DOS Key Word Pro program.

I have no idea what the next big thing will be. I just know it will come in with a bang (I wonder if that used to be “bing”?), everybody will need one or die, and it will go through ten new versions and upgrades before being replaced by the next big thing.

The real question is what was the first big thing?

The First Big Thing

A play by Kenton Lewis

Og: What you call round thing?

Oog: The wheel. It next big thing.

Og: Why?

Oog: To move things around easier.

Og: But I don’t have things.

Oog: You will, believe me you will.

Bloggers looking for the next big thing:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The next big thing | Geek Ergo Sum
  2. The World is Going Digital | MC’s Whispers
  3. 149. Innovation: Daily Prompt | Sofie’s Diary
  4. MOM | charlottesville winter
  5. Bionic Contact Lenses | Daily Prompt: The Next Big Thing | mattsden101
  6. The Solar Ark | The Life Nomadik
  7. “Blood Tracker”: Better Than Cure | Daily Prompt: The Next Big Thing | likereadingontrains
  8. Daily Prompt: Innovative Thoughts, Tomorrows Products | My Daily Prompt Blog
  9. The Next Big “Thing” Will Be A “Thang” And What Was The First Big Thing? | The Jittery Goat
  10. Daily Prompt: The Next Big Thing « Mama Bear Musings
  11. Love. Life. | The Next Big Thing in Technology World
  12. Real Innovation | Tony’s Texts
  13. Isn’t it Time? | Through My Green Eyes
  14. Daily Prompt: The Next Big Thing | Of Glass & Paper
  15. Daily prompt: The next big thing | afifahcookie
  16. Less Than 10 Years Ago… | Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  17. Daily Prompt: The Next Big Thing | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  18. Daily Prompt | A Healthy Big Gurl
  19. Just before the Suddenlies | A Teacher’s Blog
  20. Innovative Technological Piece Of Cloth | Wise Counsel
  21. Innovative Technological Piece Of Cloth | Wise Counsel
  22. A Real Live Universal Compatible Translator | Vivir, que no es poco
  23. Sky Garden | Spunky Wayfarer
  24. Internet of Things [IoT]: The Next Big Thing | so i wrote
  25. The Next Big Thing: New Horizons | Khana’s Web
  26. The Next Big Thing | Tessa Sheppard
  27. Daily Prompt: The Next Big Thing In Your Head | Overcoming Bloglessness
  28. the UNCATEGORISED: Daily Prompt |The Next Big Thing | the TRASH BASH
  29. Daily Prompt: The Next Big Thing | A Western Buddhist’s Travels
  30. Daily Prompt: The Next Big Thing | Ohm Sweet Ohm
  31. The Next Big Thing – Emailing Your Stuff | The Curse of Future Tom
  32. Daily Prompt: The Next Big Thing | The Tarot Alchemist
  33. The Nexy Big Thing | Nanuschka’s Blog
9 comments

  1. I too have the sane idea, I mean, I don’t know what it will be. But I hope I find something out before I make my post. 😀

Blather away, if you like.

