My Goal Is To Write Gooder

I'll like you if you like me.
I’ll like you if you like me.

Daily Prompt: Goals

When you started your blog, did you set any goals? Have you achieved them? Have they changed at all?

Just as my blog has changed so has my writing, my subjects, but goals has remained the same.

My goals were never lofty.

At first I wrote satire. It is enjoyable and fun, but soon readers assume you are something you are not. To me, satire is like playing a role. A person soon becomes known as the character in the role rather than the person they are.

I started to write personal items that might be entertaining and enlightening, yet, always having a hand on the satirical lever.

My Daily Prompt activity started the first of February of this year. It is a great exercise. It gives a subject to write about each day. It allows me to write and comment on things that otherwise would not have to mind.

WordPress provides stats. They are, I suppose, a good gauge of how well one is doing. There is a drawback to stats; one could be so consumed by them that good writing may become the secondary goal.

Certainly, if the writing is poor than your visits will be low, but if one writes with the idea of attracting volume perhaps the trueness of your writing may be compromised. A reasonably skilled or not so skilled writer could become a blogging sensation overnight by choosing any number of hot bottom subjects and write outrageously about them.

If one has the goal of followers, that can be deceptive. Most followers are like a professional courtesy. Not everybody who is a follower follows me, in fact I’d say most don’t. That is a false indicator.

The same can be said about the ‘like’ button. I posted a thousand word post a few months ago. I got a ‘like’ within a minute. I appreciated the ‘like,’ but I wished they would have taken the time to read it first. That said, some readers may like what has been written, but don’t know or bother with the ‘like’ button.

Certainly the number of followers and likes may be an indicator but they don’t give a complete picture.

The best measure is to look at what you wrote a year ago and compare it with what you wrote yesterday – you know, you know whether it is better or not. That to me is the goal – am I writing better?

That gets back to a goal: my goal is to write good stuff.

Other bloggers with goals or not:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

    1. 22.5 Daily Prompt: Goals | family photos food & craft

    1. Why do I write this? | Geek Ergo Sum

    1. My blog goal | Right Down My Alley

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | The Daily Post | بيسان

    1. Let’s do some diggings | Phelio a Random Post a Day

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | mattsden101

    1. A Bucketful of Delightful Blogging Memories | Ramisa the Authoress

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | Pinay New Yorker

    1. Goals | Nanuschka’s Blog

    1. This blogging malarkey… | thoughtsofrkh

    1. What I Named My Blog After | Daily Prompt: Goals | likereadingontrains

    1. Score an Own-Goal Blame the Goalie- (Daily Prompt) | The Rider

    1. spring reflections | greetings from england

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | I really just pretend to know stuff

    1. My blogging goals | Sue’s Trifles

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals « Mama Bear Musings

    1. My Goal Is To Write Gooder | The Jittery Goat

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | Basically Beyond Basic

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | What I Want, What I Will Achieve | With Seasons Changes

    1. A Long and Arduous Journey | Heather D. Roberts

    1. GOAL! | Misifusa’s Blog

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | No Effect Observed

    1. Kicking Goals | Tony’s Texts

    1. 89 Days | Venti Mocha Moments

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | Let There be Peace on Earth

    1. Blogging Goals | Travellin’ Thru Rambles

    1. Love. Life. | Setting Goals for a Personal Blog

    1. Daily Prompt: My Goals For Blogging | My Daily Prompt Blog

    1. No. | Hope* the happy hugger

    1. Goals | Code Name Incog

    1. I’m so tired of having to ‘achieve’ | The Mercenary Researcher

    1. keDaily Prompt – Goals | Escape from Chaos

    1. Why I write this Blog | A Teacher’s Blog

    1. Alphabetical Advice from the Soul | Never Stationary

    1. I blog about happiness and honesty | To Pursue Happiness

    1. Road Trip A-Z Challenge Day 15 | My Daily Prompt Blog

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | Alastair’s Blog

    1. Thinking Outside The Blog | Gin & Lemonade

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

    1. My Goal… | Haiku By Ku

    1. High hopes.. | Relax…

    1. Fun with Infographics! | doctorandmrso

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | dianapleno

    1. Lydablogger | Just Give Me a Reason

    1. Vein of golden ore | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving

    1. Whatever Works: Musings on the Nature of Art | Svetlana Grobman: Writing With an Accent

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | r | one studio architecture

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals – None are so easily achieved! | SERENDIPITY

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | life n me!

    1. Goals, Ambitions and Resolutions | Things To Rave About

    1. Score | Spunky Wayfarer

    1. lovin bloggin | Bubonicboon

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | A Visceral Life

    1. Mission Accomplished Daily | Donbury Pond

    1. Blog Journey | The Nameless One

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | suzie81’s Blog

    1. Do 15 New Things in 30 Days | Cheri Speak

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | writinglikeastoner

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals or “Welcome to No-More-Damn-Weeks” | Outside

    1. Daily Prompt: Meeting My Goals | Staying in Focus

    1. The Beginning | TheLifeandTimesofaMom

    1. Bloggy Goals? | Stuphblog

    1. Ever Changing | draliman on life

    1. No Particular Reason for Blogging | das Nicht-zuhause-sein

    1. Why I Do This | things change. people change.

    1. Reasons for Blogging | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | Exploring Utah with MS and Apples

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | The Tarot Alchemist

    1. How To Be More Productive | Self-Help for Creatively Deprived

    1. On Goals and Garbling | windandlaughter

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | Success and Failure | Under the Monkey Tree

    1. LL Cool J, Goals & Awards | steph’s scribe

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | The Blogging Path

    1. Goals: Thanks Everyone! | Khana’s Web

    1. Daily Prompt: Goals | The corner of my imagination

    1. I scored. | hansolosvagina

    1. A post a day for 365 | 365 wings of hope

30 comments

  1. “The best measure is to look at what you wrote a year ago and compare it with what you wrote yesterday – you know, you know whether it is better or not. That to me is the goal – am I writing better?”
    Yes, that is indeed the plan. To, hopefully one day, be able to look back and say “ok, this was a good exercise, the writing’s gotten better after all”. Thanks for this post, it kind of reminds me of what I always knew: that you cannot arrive at your goal if you’re too embarrassed to just start walking, to fall over a thousand times, bore people even more often and maybe .. just maybe, learn what you need to in the process. Then, after you’ve lost about a billion lives, new goals to be reached appear on the horizon 🙂

  2. I would have to say, your writing has always been great. I’d loved to know how it worked out for the guy that had a deadbeat brother and went to prison. That writing was on fire.

  3. Great post…I really like reading your posts…I agree with the likes, the followers and the stats…they’re great tools but, well, one can easily obsess…keep on writings…and I’ll try to keep on commenting!

  4. You have so surpassed your goal as you do not right good stuff, you write great stuff. Love reading daily. Thank you for sharing with your readers. Thank you for the reference to my articles also.

  5. Insightful post. I agree with you in terms of using your past work to evaluate your growth, it can be pretty hard to maintain perspective when you’re surrounded by great writers. But as they say (I have no idea who said this) Compare yourself to other and you get bitter, compare yourself to you and you get better.

  6. I agree with you on so many levels, I was practically nodding while reading this post. I keep a bit of an account of my likes/comments/readers/stats while reminding myself that these in no way define me or my writing. But it is a sort of acceptance.
    Contrary to you I happen to have lofty goals. But I am farther away from them. It’s just that I like to aim high, higher than I believe myself to be capable of!
    Ironically when I write a post I do not try to be very articulate; I just write from my heart. I’m not a god writer, I’m at stage one where I am just writing B after A. But I love my blog, like my baby!
    Thanks for the pingback. I think I wrote a mini-post here in your comments section

    • I enjoyed your reply. I have found the simpler and more direct I write it is most effective and receive the most complimentary feed-back. When reading someone who is trying to impress, no matter how good the story, I’m distracted. Write in such a way nobody knows your writing – if that makes sense.

  7. Excellent blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like
    Wordpress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out
    there that I’m totally confused .. Any recommendations?
    Kudos!

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Wordppress is a a good place to start. They have a core of contributors and people who work for them who encourage a lot of self expression.
      Write, write, write, and write some more.

Blather away, if you like.

