Love Ain’t What It Used To Be

If we love only with our heart it is likely tomfoolery. Love requires most come for the intellect and have such meaning in our lives that it changes in a good way.
If we love only with our heart it is likely tomfoolery. Love requires that it must come from intellect also and have such meaning in our lives that it changes our life in a good way.

Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is

We each have many types of love relationships — parents, children, spouses, friends. And they’re not always with people; you may love an animal, or a place. Is there a single idea or definition that runs through all the varieties of “love”?

Yesterday’s Daily Prompt was to write about words that the meaning has changed or misused. I almost used the word “love.”

It has become overused so much it has become a dishonest word, a word to get something you don’t deserve. It has become a word for flattery and not sincerity.

It is confused with like, lust, sex, admire, wish, respect, friends, and so on. The word has been cheapened by overuse. A dictionary gives a plethora of definitions, not because the word is confusing, rather how it has been misused. Of all the words in the world that have been misused this is the poster word. It has become nothing more than the warm fuzzy feeling you get when things are good.

In the Bible at First Corinthians chapter 13 verses 4 – 7 a description of love is given as it is used in a particular context. It is a partial, yet, we see how serious and limited its use should be.

“Love is long-suffering and kind. Love is not jealous, it does not brag, does not get puffed up,  does not behave indecently, does not look for its own interests, does not become provoked. It does not keep account of the injury. It does not rejoice over unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth. It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.”

If a word had to be picked that binds or defines an aspect of “love” that without that word “love” would mean something else, it would have to be “loyalty.” If “loyalty” is not a part of the definition, the way you are using “love” is nothing more than a four letter word for “I’m blowing smoke up your wazoo.”

Bloggers and lovers:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. May 11 Daily Prompt: I Want To Know What Love Is | Nadeen’s Reading Corner
  2. Change Without Prior Notice | Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is | likereadingontrains
  3. Easy Answer « Sorta-Ginger
  4. Daily Post: What is Love? | A Sign Of Life
  5. Love (WordPress Daily Prompt) | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis and Me
  6. Unconditional Love? | Sam’s Online Journal
  7. Ilya Fostiy. Is There a God? | Bright Moments Catcher
  8. All is lie | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  9. Love Is Like A Rock | Katherine’s Daughter
  10. Love at its best, Love at its worst | the world behind the lens
  11. Love is subjective: Feel it to define it. | Sofistikeyted
  12. Love Ain’t What It Used To Be | The Jittery Goat
  13. Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is | The Daily Post | The Blogging Path
  14. Beloved | Spunky Wayfarer
  15. Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is | On My Front Porch
  16. Love is a beautiful song… and more… (Daily Prompt) | The Rider
  17. 723: Daily Prompt: I want to know what love is: “What love?” | SEVEN Hundred 50
  18. DP: Sacrifice | Elizabeth Los
  19. AwwwwSOME! | Relax…
  20. Repost – Cinta… apa itu Cinta dan Siapa Cinta? | Jejak Langkah…
  21. What Is Love? Daily Don’t Prompt Me! | Edward Hotspur
  22. The Cracks in the Earth | the truth should be free
  23. Daily Prompt; I Want to Know What Love is | terry1954
  24. Love… | Haiku By Ku
  25. Daily Prompt: Love IS | My Daily Prompt Blog
  26. Sternberg on Love | Cozy Compulsions @ Midnight
  27. Hollywood’s idea of “Love” | Film Vex
  28. Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is — LOVE IS | SERENDIPITY
  29. Love is… | The Nameless One
  30. Daily Prompt: I want to know what love is. | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  31. Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is | A Hedonistic Wander
  32. Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is « Mama Bear Musings
  33. I define “love” as simple as possible | không gian đa chiều [Z]
  34. Lydablogger | What I Learned about Love
  35. the UNCATEGORISED: Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is | the TRASH BASH
  36. Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is/God Is Love… | Musings&Rants
  37. Everyday Adventures | Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is
  38. Daily Prompt : I want what love is | The Road 2 Cute Shoes
  39. Daily Prompt: I want to know what love is… | thatissogoingonmyblog
  40. What is love? (Baby, don’t hurt me~) | Rinse
  41. The puzzlement of love | Hope* the happy hugger
  42. Daily Prompt: I Want To Know What Love Is | suzie81’s Blog
  43. I Wanna Know What Love Is… Daily Prompt | Walking the Widow’s Path
  44. Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is. Dammit! | My Endless Rants & Ramblings
  45. Questioning the Question: Philosophy, Love, and Marriage | Retrievals
  46. (Daily Prompt) (Idea of Love) | liveuntil
  47. One Man Versus Love | One Man Versus the World
  48. Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is | The Tarot Alchemist
  49. Love is… | My thought exactly…!
  50. Tomorrow’s the Big Day | To Pursue Happiness
  51. Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is | The corner of my imagination
20 comments

Blather away, if you like.

