Best Blogging Advice Money Can’t Buy

"Father, I can not tell a lie, it was I who wrote that terrible blog." "Young George, that was some of the finest screed I have ever tossed in the stove. Without using it to start the firs we would have froze to death last winter."
“Father, I can not tell a lie, it was I who wrote that terrible blog.”
“Young George, that was some of the finest screed I have ever tossed in the stove. Without using it to start the fire we would have froze to death last winter.”

Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway

Give your newer sisters and brothers-in-WordPress one piece of advice based on your experiences blogging.

If you’re a new blogger, what’s one question you’d like to ask other bloggers?

Blogging affords the opportunity to write what you want and your way.

I believe it was Hemingway who advised to write the truest sentence. Don’t regale the reader with how clever your words are; just be yourself. You will find an audience for what you write. It may be large or small, but it is yours.

Writing your best is a funny thing. At times you feel it’s not so good. You may begin to think ‘maybe I should give it up.’ And then for some reason someone somewhere will comment ‘what you wrote today made my load lighter, my life a little better – I smiled, I chuckled, I took a deep breath, I thought, I meditated, I felt better. Thanks for your story.’ And you reply with a simple ‘Thanks’ to that person, because they have lifted you further than what you lifted them or what you could have done on your own. That’s the funny think about writing, the best rewards are what money can’t buy.

Writing is sharing and that may be what others; someone, someplace, and sometime is waiting for.

Write honest.

Blogging advisors:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

    1. The People Who Live Inside The Bar Chart | The Magic Black Book
    2. Unique Outlook | Travellin’ Thru Rambles
    3. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | JUkk
    4. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | بيسان
    5. May 7 Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | Nadeen’s Reading Corner
    6. Read (Not Just Your Stuff) | Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | likereadingontrains
    7. Interests first, readers second. | Phelio a Random Post a Day
    8. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | A Glimps of HOPE
    9. Things that matter | writemybrainsout
    10. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | The Following | The Writing Righter
    11. 7:5 Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | family photos food & craft
    12. 1 Introduction: Daily prompt | Sofie’s Diary
    13. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | HpWpBp
    14. Best Blogging Advice Money Can’t Buy | The Jittery Goat
    15. Blogging | Hope* the happy hugger
    16. The burning question | Right Down My Alley
    17. Be yourself. | The Unthemed Nook
    18. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | writinglikeastoner
    19. Daily Prompt: Seeking Advice | My Daily Prompt Blog
    20. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway « Mama Bear Musings
    21. Learning from Blogging | The Nameless One
    22. Breaks… | Haiku By Ku
    23. My Personal Blogging Post-Mortem | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
    24. Daily Prompt: From a new comers perspective | thatissogoingonmyblog
    25. be true to who you are | thematticuskingdom
    26. 10 Things I Know to be True | Polyprotic Amory
    27. A Blogger’s Say Behind The Lens | the world behind the lens
    28. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
    29. The key to blogging: Respect (Daily Prompt) | The Rider
    30. Content is King | Recis Dempayos
    31. Patience and persistance (WordPress Daily Prompt) | Ireland, MS and me
    32. Daily Post: Takeaway -Questions | Essence of Del
    33. The Key Takeaway | Happy Clam
    34. The Little Bit I Can Give You to Takeaway « Overcoming to Becoming
    35. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | Playing for Time
    36. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway 7th April 2013 | ittikorn1994
    37. Takeaways – Questions | Essence of Del
    38. Take “The Bear’s” Advice | Forever Autumn
    39. Thoughts on blogging | Spunky Wayfarer
    40. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway « Ate the Peach
    41. Your best friend | Pigments of Life
    42. What every blogger should know | Sue’s Trifles
    43. Daily Post: Takeaway, Without a Box | One Starving Activist
    44. Do you read me…over (Daily Prompt) | liveuntil
    45. May 4 Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | Nadeen’s Reading Corner
    46. Part II – Question to Fellow Bloggers « Overcoming to Becoming
    47. If it’s written, it’s meant to be read – 3rd installment |
    48. Daily Post–Advice for New Bloggers « disappearinginplainsight
    49. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | The Blogging Path
    50. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway — Capture the Mist | SERENDIPITY
    51. Follow Me Widget | Sisters of Christ
    52. What in THE hell!?!?!?! | Wrapped up in Wonder Woman’s lasoo of truth!
    53. To blog or not to blog…. | Military Bride
    54. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | Diary of Dennis
    55. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | The corner of my imagination
    56. My Keystone for Blogging | Colline’s Blog
    57. Blogging Advice From The Fish | Fish Of Gold
    58. Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | An Unlikely Gypsy…
    59. Please, answer this question.. | Lily Mugford
    60. Nuggets of wisdom | Mainer Chick’s

29 comments

  1. And that is why I enjoy your blog and have nominated you for the Liebster blog award. Read more about it in today’s post.

  2. Good advice. I often criticize myself because I feel my writing style is too simplistic, childlike even. That is how I write, no fancy words, no complex sentences. Thanks for the reminder to just be me.

  3. When I first came to this site, I knew little or nothing about blogging. I found this site by exploring the”freshly pressed” function in the reader. Out of all the sites I visited, yours was the most helpful and the most welcoming. Many of the writers on the web will rarely take the time to reply to a reader’s comments. I know that they are busy, writing and collaborating on their respective works, and I’m sure that they are pressed for time. But a simple “thanks for reading” goes along way in inspiring fledgling bloggers. Keep up the excellent work!

  4. Thanks, Kenton. You are the first person who has said what I tell my writing groups when we share our words with invited guests: ‘there will be someone out there who needed to hear just those words, just now.’ It always happens. However light, deep, outrageous, tragic. Isn’t that a key reason to write anything?

Blather away, if you like.

