I Don’t Want To Be Politically Correct I Just Want To Be Left Alone

Will I be shot if I don't answer correctly and say police officer or police woman?
Will I be shot if I don’t answer correctly and say police officer or police woman?

Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World

I didn’t receive my Daily Prompt by email today so this was posted instead. Upon checking my reader I discovered there was indeed a prompt, so deal with it!

I think by now we have been fully indoctrinated by “political correctness” or see right through it.

I’m not certain it has made the world or society a better place. It just allows us to go around and lead a shallow veneer life.

A stewardess on a plane has now become a flight attendant. I still use stewardess at the risk of being tossed from the flight, cavity searched, or coffee dumped in my lap.

I don’t want to offend anyone by a misnaming them. I was with a friend the other day and we met a person. My friend asked if they were native? I thought that was a dignified way to address the subject. I have a friend from India. He is Indian. I don’t think this is as much political correctness as it is being accurate.

Technically everyone born north of the Isthmus of Panama is an American. They were born in North America. Yet for the sake of clarity and tradition we dispense with technicalities.

Near the time when politically correct definitions were becoming new and vogue. (People at that time went around as if to say, ‘did you notice I said chair person and not chairman.’) I had and encounter with a female policeman (that just irritates some). My car threw a timing belt and I was stuck at an intersection. I exited the car and looked under the hood. I really don’t know why, but I did.

A female policeman drove up and rolled down her window. “Hey buddy,” she said gruffly. “You can’t leave your car in the intersection or I’ll have it towed away.”

At this point in my life I’m not yet a crotchety geezer. I walked toward her car and stooped down to see into her window. “Sir, my name is not buddy.”

“Just move the car,” she said and drove away.

Well I pushed the car to a full-service gas station on the corner and that was that.

Her rudeness bothered me. She works for the community and me.

I called the chief of police. While telling my story he continued to correct my use of the term policeman with, “Police officer is the term we’re using.”

After the third correction I said, “Well, she looked like a man and talked like a man.”

Yes that was insensitive, but I just got done paying for a costly repair to my car and my back ached from shoving the piece of crap across an intersection.

And there’s one more thing that hacks me off, the spell-check on WordPress; it has a built-in PC gotcha bias language alarm. It won’t even allow me to say chairman (chair), or policeman (officer, police officer).

Why can’t I be left alone? Everybody knows what I mean. I feel as though I’m in a fight to preserve a native language that’s about to perish.

Other blogger:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge ABOVE | 2013 Weekly Photo Challenge Blog
  2. Imagining the author | idiotisms
  3. May 4 Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | Nadeen’s Corner
  4. Not the Boy Who Cried Wolf | Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | likereadingontrains
  5. Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text, World « Mama Bear Musings
  6. 6 The Big News: DPChallenge | Sofie’s Diary
  7. Netizen/Citizen | Sofistikeyted
  8. Ghost in the Machine | Matthew Vett’s Development Blog
  9. Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  10. Let’s talk | Spunky Wayfarer
  11. Daily Prompt: it’s A Text, Text, Text World | Morrighan’s Muse
  12. A bumpy ride on the communication see-saw | Formally known as Verity
  13. Daily Prompt: Communicating in Cyber World | My Daily Prompt Blog
  14. Daily Prompt: Communicating in Cyber World « My Blog portions
  15. Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | Lines by Linda
  16. Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | On My Front Porch
  17. Teenage Techie | Travellin’ Thru Rambles
  18. Weekly Photo Challenge: From Above – MY WORLD | my cyber house rules
  19. Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | I really just pretend to know stuff
  20. My Inner Thoughts | The Bottom of a Bottle
  21. It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | The Nameless One
  22. Impress me with Honesty | The Magic Black Book
  23. Daily Prompt: “It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World” | Sparkly Me
  24. Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | The corner of my imagination
  25. Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | An Unlikely Gypsy…
19 comments

  1. Hahahaha…yes we personkind have taken things to the limits!!!! In the U.S. do you still call janitors, janitors or are they sanitation engineers like in Italy, we also have the unhearing, the unseeing and the differently enabled (translation for free…no bing for me!)

  2. “Technically everyone born north of the Isthmus of Panama is an American.”

    Woah, sorry, but I object! Last time I looked England, land of my birth, was north of the Isthmus of Panama — and I ain’t no yankee! 😛

    I have tuppence to offer on the WordPress speelchucker:
    1. WordPress has a speelchucker?
    2. Speelchuckers encourage sloppy writing: they can’t tell you (for instance) that you meant ‘an’ when you said ‘and’.

    Incidentally, have you seen Hot Fuzz? If not, I think you might enjoy it.

    Danny: So what made you want to become a policeman?
    Nicholas: Officer!
    Danny: What made you want to become a policeman officer?

    Yarp.

  3. […] « Mama Bear Musings6 The Big News: DPChallenge | Sofie’s DiaryNetizen/Citizen | SofistikeytedI Don’t Want To Be Politically Correct I Just Want To Be Left Alone | The Jittery GoatGhost in the Machine | Matthew Vett’s Development BlogDaily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, […]

  4. If politically correctness was introduced to cooking all spices & herbs would be banned and become illegal.

    At least that’s what I think! A secretary is a secretary. Ditto on policeman and stewardess. But me? I’m a non-male. I find the term woman to be degrading. Ha!

  5. Way too true. Good job, sir.. I mean your honor.. or, master blogger.. how about dear friend.. is that one okay?

  6. Good job pointing out point-blank what we all think anyway, BlogMan/Blogperson. But I don’t think our disgruntled-ness has solid grounds anymore in a world that is bursting to the seams with ambitions of equality, feminism, racism, and all the other -isms that civil behaviour comes with. Granted, it ticks us off, but the isms have been made so through years of thought and action. Behaviour that doesn’t comply with the set standards is fast on the track to oblivion, but the occasional tantrum like this, is acceptable, I think.

    • Had to go back a reread.
      I always want to be sensitive to others, but not to the point of nauseum. I don’t want a micro sensitive 1% of the population to tell me I’m insensitive to something they have little clue.
      What often happens is that people with extreme views become heard over the ones who are reasonable regarding certain isms.
      I’m not king so I can do little about it and if I were I’d still do nothing about it.
      Thanks for reading, commenting, and sharing you thoughts.

Blather away, if you like.

