A Page From My Novel

During World War II my Dad was stationed on the Galapagos Islands. I've used it as a location for part of my next novel, Galapagos Man.
During World War II my Dad was stationed on the Galápagos Islands. I’ve used it as a location for part of my next novel, Galápagos Man.

It’s 7:06 AM ya’ll and the Daily Prompt has become the Daily Plop. Thus I will share the opening page of chapter sixteen of a novel I’m working on. The working title is Galápagos Man.

Alex Thurston is dying and he has revealed a long kept secret about the past to his son, AJ. AJ talks to his wife, Millie, about his Dad’s condition.

Chapter 16

The Plan

The day Alex told AJ about the events during the war he told it to Millie.

After the children were in bed they snuggled quietly on the living room couch.

“There’s something bothering you, AJ,” Millie said. “You want to talk about it?”

“It’s Dad,” AJ said. “He’s slipping fast and I don’t know what to do for him.”

“You have got to do something,” Millie said. “Dad has a lot of living left.”

“He’s determined to die,” AJ said.

“Doesn’t he want to see his grandchildren grow?” Millie said.

“Dad thinks that dying before the kids are too old is best,” AJ said. “There will be less to remember of him.”

“He has a son in Panama,” Millie said. “You would think he’d like to live long enough to see him and maybe his children.”

“I think that’s a part of Dad’s life he’d just as soon forget,” AJ said.

“Not from what you told me,” Millie said. “Maybe that’s what is killing him. If he only had a reason to live.”

2 comments

Blather away, if you like.

