I Can’t Write What I Don’t Know

Mom, Dad, Char, and Becky during the war (possibly 1943) before I entered the picture.
Mom, Dad, Char, and Becky during the war (possibly 1943) before I entered the picture.

Daily Prompt: Companionable

Head to one of your favorite blogs. Write a companion piece to their penultimate post.

Heck, I had to look up what “penultimate” meant. That automatically disqualifies me.

What happens to the brain when you run out of things to write about? For one thing, you start thinking about stuff nobody else would possibly think about and call yourself clever.

Estelle Getty as Sophia in the Golden Girls said of Ernest Hemingway, ‘As a writer he dried up, got depressed, and blew his brains out with a shot-gun.” Rather crass, but it was her (Sophia’s) response to a situation.

Anyway, this prompt left me looking for my shot-gun. What is more disturbing is that I have none. I might as well open my desk drawer, dangle my fingers over the edge, slam the drawer, and write about the first word that comes out of my mouth. So in the absence of a shot-gun and a desire not to wake my wife with “Ahhhhh &%*@!”:

I’ll write a little something else. Two days ago I got a package. It was from my niece back in Ohio. It contained some old family photos. They were photos of family, of simple times, and simple ways, and simple people.

Likely the last picture of Dad before an operation disfigured his jaw. It's the way I remember him.
Likely the last picture of Dad before an operation disfigured his jaw. It’s the way I remember him.

No words have come to my fingertips that describe my feelings. I just have a lot of tears. It was as if a door to the past had been suddenly thrust open and I walked in uninvited. My only two siblings have died (sisters). Dad died in ’69 and Mom will be 100 next February. One picture surprised me. I had never seen it before, It was a picture of Dad. It was a picture of him shortly before his cancer operation in ‘62. It is how I remember him before the operation left one side of his face missing half of his jaw bone.

Anyway, that’s what prompted me today.

 

 

 

 

 

 

More blogs:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Ilya Fostiy. Muse | Inside My Glitching Mind
  2. Ilya Fostiy. A Village | Inside My Glitching Mind
  3. Throb | Sam’s Online Journal
  4. Daily Prompt: Companionable | Alastair’s Blog
  5. Daily Prompt: Companionable « Mama Bear Musings
  6. My Companion List of Quotes | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  7. Football, Women, Fried Rice and Popcorn. | The Nameless One
  8. Daily Prompt: Companionable | بيسان
  9. 42. Reflections DPChallenge: | Sofie’s Diary
  10. No | Daily Prompt: Companionable | likereadingontrains
  11. These poems are devoted to my family friends and for a special lady Who gave so much when so much was asked was her love fully given | Daniel angel from Cape Cornwall
  12. Parallel universe. | amateurxpress
  13. Daily Prompt: Pair Them Up | My Daily Prompt Blog
  14. Daily Prompt: Companionable 20th April 2013 | ittikorn1994
  15. Daily Prompt: Companiable | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  16. Bizarre world | Spunky Wayfarer
  17. Tango with a stranger | Very Very
  18. Wouldn’t Soar | Maggie’s Stories
  19. April 20 Daily Prompt: Companionable | Nadeen’s Corner
  20. Shooting Stars (A Companion Piece) | Maggie’s Writing
  21. Introducing Balu | aNadventures
  22. Bird Flu Threat on the Horizon | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  23. Okavango swamps – memories are all we have | Sula1968’s Blog
  24. Daily Prompt: Companionable | Overcoming Bloglessness
  25. In an Area That Made the Top 5 Most Depressing Cities List, I Found Hope | Conversations
12 comments

  1. Becky, the taller girl I’ll assume, has the happiest smile. You’re mother is very pretty. You’re dad has the nose of a boxer. Great pictures! I love old pictures of dear friends history.

  2. I looked the word up and used it in my article and still was not sure what the Prompt was looking for…love your family tree much better thank you. Thank you for the ping back also.

  3. I thought the same as you ,But it gave me an excuse to open one of my earlier pages where i put many poems on one page and one poem stood out from the rest so whatever the definition meant
    Have a wonderful Sunday
    Daniel angel from Cape Cornwall

Blather away, if you like.

