Who Wants To Be Me?

Eddie Murphey as me.
Eddie Murphy as me.

Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday

If you could be someone else for a day, who would you be, and why? If that seems too easy, try this one: who would you like to have spend a day as you and what do you hope they’d learn from the experience?

Some things are too stupid to consider. Okay, what that really means is that I haven’t a clue about where to start. (That’s stalling tactic.)

There is an old Eddy Murphy Saturday Night Live skit where he becomes white and moves around freely in the white world. It deals with many of the misconceptions of what blacks think it’s like to be white.

I’d let any black man be me for a day, but at the end of the day I want me back. (Not really. I’m still stalling. It made me sound virtuous, accepting, and tolerant. Where’s my National Public Radio coffee cup and tote bag?)

We all toy with the idea of putting ourselves in another person’s shoes. (Not really, just trying to get us all to join hands.). It is an exercise that allows us to develop empathy. It is a quality that should be taught as soon as possible by parents. It is a quality that will lead to many friendships and fulfilling life. (I’m trying to figure a way out of this.)

(Carp! Be honest.) Not for one minute do I want somebody to be me. It’s taken me a lifetime to earn who I am or am not. I’m not turning that over to anybody. (“Ye shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free.” John 8:32)

(Let’s get real) I take my humor serious. This ‘prompt’ lends itself to humor. Yet humor in its absolute funniest form is truth; more precisely honest and obvious truth. When hearing a joke, comedy routine, or reading humor I look for the honesty and how it is packaged that makes it come to life as humor.

Thus the Murphy SNL routine is based on a true misconception that blacks have about whites. Hyperbole is based on truth. (I’m still clueless about who I want to be me.)

I’ve given this ‘prompt’ about forty minutes. I’ve failed to deliver. So does anybody reading this want to be me? (Crickets) Just as I thought, no takers.

So I guess I was right to begin with, it’s stupid.

Freaky bloggers:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Ilya Fostiy. Basement | Inside My Glitching Mind
  2. Daily prompt : Freaky Friday | Taking time, making time
  3. Daily Prompt: Freaky Firday | Alastair’s Blog
  4. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | Paths Unwritten
  5. My Daily Prompt Blog
  6. A Whole Other Show Behind the Curtain | Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | likereadingontrains
  7. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | JUkk
  8. Freaky Friday Who Should I Be | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  9. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | Of Glass & Paper
  10. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | Yeahthtsme
  11. Dare to be me | Very Very
  12. Freaky friday | Mirror-Girl
  13. Who Wouldn’t Want To Be Me For A Day? | The Cheeky Diva
  14. Daily prompt: freaky Friday | The Mr Attempts a blog
  15. No Way! | Pigments of Life
  16. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | Reviewer Rose
  17. Freaky Thursday | Spunky Wayfarer
  18. DP ~ Freaky Friday! | Misifusa’s Blog
  19. Love and Joy | Haiku By Ku
  20. 99 Bottles of Beer on the Wall | Honey Did you See that?
  21. TFI (Freaky) Friday | Prompt Queen
  22. To be or not to be but always be me | The Nameless One
  23. Kind of a Lesson | Kind of a Bum
  24. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday 18th April 2013 | ittikorn1994
  25. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | The Blogging Path
  26. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | cognitive reflection
  27. Be you for a day? Yes please. Now. NOW! Swap! | thoughtsofrkh
  28. Becoming Batman for Just One Day … | The Flavored Word
  29. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  30. Swapping Bodies | Matthew Vett’s Development Blog
  31. Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday « Mama Bear Musings
  32. Daily Post: Fear and Loathing | One Starving Activist
  33. Let Me Be Myself | Wise Counsel
  34. Post a Week: Freaky Friday | sketches and scribbles (reloaded)
  35. New Body – Same Me Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | New Lease–Same Hope

 

13 comments

  1. Reminds me of this:
    Before you judge a man, walk a mile in his shoes. After that, who cares? …He’s a mile away and you’ve got his shoes.

Blather away, if you like.

