Old Glove Old Desk Old Sweater Old Me

My first baseball gloves.
My first baseball gloves.

Daily Prompt: Prized Possession

Describe an item you were incredibly attached to as a child. What became of it?

Admittedly I have an attachment to things; small things that remind me of the past.

My Dad bought a glove for me when it looked as if there was a good chance for me to start at shortstop on my little league baseball team. A couple of years later he bought a first baseman’s mitt for me. I still have them. It’s a reminder of hot sunny days on dusty diamonds as a kid and being my Dad’s pride.

I write on the desk my mother bought as a gift on my fourteenth birthday. A matching bookcase came with it. I have another blog which isn’t used often. It’s called My Old Brown Desk.

A year before purchasing the desk and bookcase Mom and Dad purchased a set of World Book Encyclopedias. Mom and Dad thought my grades would improve. They didn’t, but they opened up a world of wonder and knowledge. Those encyclopedias were stored for a while in a damp place and took on mold. They had to be destroyed.

It reminds me of a Midwest farm house bedroom in which the desk and bookcase rested. I tried studying, but was seduced by my imagination to wander through the encyclopedias and read about places far from the farm fields of northwest Ohio.

When sixteen I saved my money from bailing hay on nearby farms and bought my school cloths. My favorite item was a green Jantzen sweater. I slip it on nearly every day. I have another blog that features only short stories. It is named My Old Green Sweater.

Each item represents a gift from the people most dear to me when growing up. They were gifts with good motives and pure hearts. Lastly was a gift purchased by myself to myself. I think sometimes that is important; buy something for just you. It’s not selfish or egotistical, just make it meaningful and memorable.

I’m not incredibly attached to those things; only the memories they beckon; Dad watching me play ball, Mom watching me study, and my first day at school wearing that sweater – I thought I was cool!

Other possesive bloggers:

  1. Ilya Fostiy. Clone | Inside My Schizophrenic Mind
  2. Prized Possession – I’m Afraid Of The Dark
  3. Daily Prompt: Prized Possession | pandora’s island 2
  4. You’re the Beary Best! | Misifusa’s Blog
  5. 57/365 – childhood attachment | Camera Girl
  6. Daily Prompt: Prized Possession | To Name a Few | Loading…
  7. Books of my grandfather, or what you need French for | Standing Ovation, Seated
  8. Puff, the Magic Turtle | Conversations
  9. Daily Prompt: Prized Possession | The Gozum Show
  10. Step aside Blankie… | thoughtsofrkh
  11. Ever decreasing comforter (Daily Prompt) | Prompt Queen
  12. Daily Prompt: Prized Possession | My Daily Prompt Blog
  13. Daily Prompt: Prized Possession | Alex Hurst
  14. Daily Prompt: Prized Possession | The Dork Life
  15. The Pendleton | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  16. Daily Prompt: Prized Possession — Annabelle | SERENDIPITY
  17. Anne | Hope* the happy hugger
  18. My most prized, loved possessions. | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  19. Waiting Upon My Every Move | Daily Prompt: Prized Possession | likereadingontrains
  20. Daily Prompt: Prized Possession | JUkk
  21. Daily Prompt: Prized Possession « Mama Bear Musings
  22. My Most Prized Possession | Chatter From a Single Mom
  23. Daily Prompt: Prized Possession 2nd April, 2013 | ittikorn1994
  24. You’re Too Slow! A Story About My Experience With the Sonic Games | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  25. Evoking Nostalgia | Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  26. Humpty Dumpty is Starting to Smell . . . | Pondering Spawned
  27. Purple Bear… | Haiku By Ku
  28. My Jassem Doll | das Nicht-zuhause-sein
  29. Daily Prompt: Prized Possession | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  30. Rolling stone.. | Head full of Fluff
  31. Daily Prompt: Prized Possession | baka’s blog
  32. Daily Prompt: Where Is It?! | One Starving Activist
  33. Daily Prompt: Prized Possession | Diary of Dennis
  34. Childhood Artifacts | Fish Of Gold
  35. Daily Prompt: Ringa Ringa Roses!! | it’s just abOut Me 🙂
  36. the blonde-haired girl with the longest legs | Pigments of Life
  37. Daily Prompt: It’s not as much fun to pick up the pieces | emma wolf
  38. The adventures of Zoe and Zelda | Five Uninterrupted Minutes
  39. My Childhood Friend | draliman on life
  40. Daily Prompt: Prized Possession | My Atheist Blog
  41. One Of The Sixty. | paul scribbles
  42. Michael Jackson and a Stuffed Platypus | History & Wine
  43. I’m not sure if I’d call it a possession…Daily Prompt | polysyllabic profundities
  44. My Prized Possession? | The Nameless One
  45. Prized Possession: A library filled with 66 books | Not The Sword But The Pen
  46. Daily Prompt: Baby Bottle | Lines by Linda
9 comments

  1. You are still cool. I know what you mean about the things themselves having the value… the ideas and the memories are the value. It is nice to have a tangible. Thank you for sharing!

    • Thanks for reading and commenting. There are a few other things I have that are in the same catagory: bronzed baby shoes, a basebal (major league), and a few old photos.
      Kenton Lewis

Blather away, if you like.

