Amazing Things Don’t Happen Here

At my blog the beebee rolls around until it finds the clowns mouth.
At my blog the beebee rolls around until it finds the clowns mouth.

Daily Prompt: The Social Network

Do you feel like you “get” social media, or do you just use it because that’s where all your friends and family are?

I ‘get’ social media except for Twitter.

Sure, it’s a way of ‘personalities’ staying in touch with their fans. If you follow Kim Kardashian or Justin Bieber on Twitter you essentially don’t have a life.

I tried Twitter to attract traffic to my blog. The conclusion; I’m not very good at it. Yet, there’s one truth that can’t escape reality; I write and want people to read what I write and Twitter is geared to people whose attention span is limited to 140 spaces in which to place words. I don’t want readers that responds to “Like Wow! Really, really cool blog. Amazing things happen here. Cool link!” (Is that 140 yet?).

I notice businesses will post on their signs “follow us on twitter.” Right, like I’m going to follow a plumber or bath room tile wholesaler on Twitter. Let’s get real.

Facebook is another waste of time. They’re great for family photo type of things and keeping in touch with relatives or friends across the country. It’s great for keeping touch with people you prefer not to interact with.

Facebook has been used to announce my posts. I got a few ‘likes;’ maybe people just don’t like me. I don’t use it anymore.

Sometimes I see something like, “”Hey see me of Facebook. See what’s going on.” It turns out nothing.

If you’re reading this; amazing things don’t happen here, just so you won‘t be disappointed. I just write what ever happens to rattle around in by brain. It’s kind of like one of those little hand-held beebee-in-the-hole games; the beebee finally finds a resting place. If you are entertained by maneuvering beebees into hollows of a clowns head, this just may be the place for you.

More sociable bloggers:

  1. The Social Network – I’m Afraid Of The Dark
  2. Social Q | Q the Adult
  3. Daily Prompt: The Social Network | The Gozum Show
  4. #overthehilloldfart. | thoughtsofrkh
  5. DP – The Social Network | Life With Pink Princesses
  6. The social network | Taking time, making time
  7. Daily Prompt: The End of the Line, Lines by Linda’s Fond Farewell | Lines by Linda
  8. Daily Prompt: The Social Network Is My Network | Creative Mysteries
  9. Social Media | paul scribbles
  10. The Socially Awkward On The Social Network | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  11. Daily Prompt: The Social Network « Mama Bear Musings
  12. If Social Network were a song… | Yeahthtsme
  13. Caution! I Will Judge Your Facebook Status. | That Girl Ryan
  14. Showing My Social Side « Sorta-Ginger
  15. Fly for Icarus
  16. Focus in a world of Distractions | Orla-Jo’s Not Dead
  17. The Social Network swings and roundabouts (Daily Prompt) | Prompt Queen
  18. Daily Prompt: The Social Network | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  19. Sensitive and Offensive | Daily Prompt: The Social Network | likereadingontrains
  20. Daily Prompt: Connected & Sexy | One Starving Activist
  21. Stuphblog
  22. Thoughts on Social Media | Not The Sword But The Pen
  23. Daily Prompt: The Social Network 1st April, 2013 | ittikorn1994
  24. The Social Networks | The Nameless One
  25. The Social Network | This Thread Sucks
  26. Daily Prompt: The Social Media and it’s use | My Daily Prompt Blog
  27. Networking | Spunky Wayfarer
  28. Social Media | Pondering Spawned
  29. Daily Prompt: The Social Network | shalilah2002
  30. Cyber Socialite | Head full of Fluff
  31. The Social Network | Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  32. Social Media Junkie Alert! | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  33. Daily Post: Social Networking | A Sign Of Life
  34. The Wonderful World of Social Media | Charming South
  35. A POETIC CONVERSATION | hastywords
  36. Daily Prompt: The Social Network | baka’s blog
  37. Should I get a Twitter? | The Happy Hermit
  38. Facebook For Alcoholics & The Lost | The Bottom of a Bottle
  39. Daily Prompt: The Social Network | My Atheist Blog
  40. Ilya Fostiy. Sweet Romance | Philosophy & Photography

12 comments

  1. Haha! I’m with you completely. I deleted my FB account 8 months ago and haven’t looked back. I did enjoy hooking up with the occasional long lost friend from high school but we soon discovered we didn’t have all that much in common or much to talk about. I think FB has become just a place for people to brag and I don’t miss that bragging or the bullying that goes on on there. Glad to be off (it was addicting) and I’m not looking back. Everyone said, “oh, you’ll be back as I had deactivated my account twice before. This time I deleted and I’m happier.

  2. “I just write what ever happens to rattle around in by brain. It’s kind of like one of those little hand-held beebee-in-the-hole games; the beebee finally finds a resting place. If you are entertained by maneuvering beebees into hollows of a clowns head, this just may be the place for you.”

    I find it extra hilarious that this paragraph lined up next to your image for the Illuminating Blogger Award!

Blather away, if you like.

