Too Much Of A Good Thing

My ultimate meal, but not every meal!
My ultimate meal, but not every meal!

Daily Prompt: Five a Day

You’ve being exiled to a private island, and your captors will only supply you with five foods. What do you pick?

When I was in my early teens my diet selection was fairly narrow, at least when eating out. It was always the same; Hamburger (mustard, pickle, onion), French fries, banana cream pie. It was all sloshed down with a Coke.

Not counting the Coke that’s three items that fulfilled my dietary and culinary delight.

I suppose that leaves me with two items remaining to choose. I really like tossed salad (I’m assuming a choice of dressings) and chili.

I’m assuming my captors will provide water or some other beverage; a dark roast coffee would be appreciated.

If my captors offered those items they would have little reason to believe I would plan an escape.

This reminds me of an experience from my early twenties. I was an Army cook. There were five cooks on our shift. We came into a large supply of filet mignon and lobster tail. We decided to have it everyday until the supply was exhausted.

I remember by the fifth day we were saying, “Oh no, filet mignon and lobster tail again!” One guy said as if fondly remembering, “I remember the good old days when I was a kid; mayonnaise sandwiches as far as the eye could see, never got tired of ’em.”

Other five food bloggers:

  1. 30 Daily Prompt: Five a Day | Family Photos Food & Craft
  2. Daily Prompt: Crash Diet on an island | My Daily Prompt Blog
  3. Five Foods in a private island | I am Super Istar
  4. Five to survive | Spunky Wayfarer
  5. I’m Afraid Of The Dark
  6. Condiments Not Included? | Daily Prompt: Five a Day | likereadingontrains
  7. Five A Day – I’m Afraid Of The Dark
  8. A Life Without Chocolate | The Daily Dilly Dally
  9. Too Much Of A Good Thing | The Jittery Goat
  10. Daily prompt: five a day | Mud Pie
  11. Daily Prompt: Five a Day I’ve Been Exiled | Lines by Linda
  12. Five a Day: Getting the Balance Right | WanderLust
  13. Balanced diet? What balance? | Angel Frouk
  14. Daily Prompt: Five a Day | Of Glass & Paper
  15. Five Foods | Matthew Vett’s Development Blog
  16. Final Five | ayimas
  17. Daily Prompt: Five a Day | LooknWalk
  18. Five a Day | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  19. Food – First Five | Bullets & Dreams
  20. A captive ‘a la carte’ menu (Daily Prompt) | Prompt Queen
  21. Daily Prompt: Five a Day | The Road to Published
  22. Daily Prompt: Five a Day | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  23. Five Food I Would Not Live Without | Creative and Juicy
  24. The 5 Foods To Keep Me Company | Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  25. Random Daily Prompt: Five a Day « Completely Random Thoughts
  26. Daily Post: For Good Health | One Starving Activist
  27. Fantastic Foods . . . | amateurxpress
  28. Daily Prompt: Five a Day | My Atheist Blog
  29. Five a Day | thelissachronicles
  30. Daily Prompt: Five a Day | writinglikeastoner
  31. Five-Alive | sat n’ all that
  32. Daily Prompt: Famous Five | it’s just abOut Me 🙂
  33. Daily Prompt: Five a Day | Dree Speaks Freely
  34. Five a Day | The Nameless One
  35. Five Foods to Make Being Exiled Grand (Daily Prompt: Five a Day) | My Abbitude Problem!
  36. Exiled but Survived | L’S THOUGHTS….

8 Comments

      1. I can remember going to the neighborhood grocery and asking for the old ground beef just before it was supposed to be tossed out. It was fine, Mom just cooked the bejeebers out of it.

Blather away, if you like.

