I Have A Kneed To Cry

 happyDaily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy

We cry for lots of reasons: sadness, pain, fear . . . and happiness. When was the last time you shed tears of joy?

These occasions happen more and more frequently the older I become. It doesn’t take much to get me crying anymore.

Sometimes one of my children (now adults) will share something with me; an accomplishment, a feeling, an experience, or so on. I tear up. I immediately think of them as children and telling me the same things, but now in more adult terms, but it’s the same person. It is just a reminder no matter how old, wise, or mature they become they are still my children and that gets me going. They are good tears.

Recently my wife had a knee replaced. It was a knee that had given her trouble since an injury as a teenager. In recent years it has become horrendously debilitating. She has had her share of surgeries over the years and succumbs to them only after all other alternatives have been exhausted.

This problem with the knee was unbearable. It has effected her back which gives her excruciating pain also.

We found a highly recommended surgeon and he recommended a knee replacement.

A few weeks ago she walked from the living room to our bedroom using her walker. Well it would be more correct for me to say shoved the walker ahead of her like it was a person in the way and needed to move faster. She walked better than I’d seen her in several years.

When she returned to the living room I asked, “Do you have anymore pain?”

She smiled. “A little, but it’s from the surgery. The other pain is gone.”

That was it. That’s my tears of joy. It doesn’t take much to get my crying anymore, but maybe it’s more than I realize.

Other bloggers who cry when happy or joyful:

  1. Ever-lasting Joy | sat n’ all that
  2. Daily Prompt: Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy « Mama Bear Musings
  3. Wax On….Wax Off | That Girl Ryan
  4. Let’s rewatch some happiness | Spunky Wayfarer
  5. Happy Happy Joy Joy – I’m Afraid Of The Dark
  6. Varying Degrees Every Day | Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy | likereadingontrains
  7. What A Writer Feels Like | Ramisa the Authoress
  8. Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy | The Gozum Show
  9. Shed a Happy Tear | Stuphblog
  10. Tears of Joy! | Bullets & Dreams
  11. It’s not sexy, but it sure feels good…! | thoughtsofrkh
  12. Tears of Joy | The Nameless One
  13. Gladful Tears | The Temenos Journal
  14. Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy | Completely Disappear
  15. Daily Prompt: Crying is it for fear, joy, sadness or pain? | My Daily Prompt Blog
  16. Hip hoppy happy tears of joy | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  17. Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy | The Kitchen Ink
  18. The human connection | Pigments of Life
  19. Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy | My Atheist Blog
  20. Daily Prompt: Happy happy joy joy | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  21. Happy tears (Daily Prompt) | Prompt Queen
  22. Happy Happy Joy Joy | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  23. Post a Week: Tears | sketches and scribbles (reloaded)
  24. Who are you? | paul scribbles
  25. Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy | The Blogging Path
  26. Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy | I’m Making Happiness
  27. Tears of Joy | thelissachronicles
  28. Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy | Reviewer Rose
  29. Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy | Lines by Linda
  30. rhapsodiesofmymind
  31. Progress « Sorta-Ginger
  32. Cry me a river … | theconsciouswriter
  33. Thoughts on Denouement | Mind of a Mouse
  34. Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy, My Happiness | baka’s blog
13 comments

  1. She smiled. “A little, but it’s from the surgery. The other pain is gone.” Reading this choked me up a little 🙂

Blather away, if you like.

