I Didn’t Like To Read Until…

Atticus Finch and his daughter Scout share a bedtime reading in the movie To Kill a Mockingbird.
Atticus Finch and his daughter, Scout, share a bedtime reading in the movie To Kill a Mockingbird.

Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories

What was your favorite book as a child? Did it influence the person you are now?

Literature and reading was not the priority in the home of an alcoholic. Mom and Dad may have read to me a couple of times. I vaguely remember something like that. There were no bedtime stories or nighttime prayers; only a beer-breath kiss.

Reading was difficult for me as a child. Schools encouraged students to read fast and to read well out loud. Neither of those things I did well. As I became older (an adult) my reading skills became better while reading to myself. Yet, at times it is a struggle for me to read out loud. Sometimes I flow and other times I see the word, I know it, but I can’t get it beyond my lips. I feel like a stutterer, knowing what to say, but it’s not coming out. This affected my view of reading early on. I didn’t even like comic books.

Teachers saw this as an intellectual or academic impediment; except for one. I don’t remember her name. She was a substitute we had for only a couple of weeks.

I sat in the section of my fifth grade classroom marked “dummies.” Her first day she asked the class what the largest city in the United States is? I was the only one to raise my hand. “New York City,” I said. She then ask for the second. I responded, “Chicago.” She continued until tenth, which I was able to supply the answer to all of them.

She sent the class out to recess and ask me how I knew the cities. I told her I found the data in the World Almanac. I went on to tell her that baseball was considering expansion and only larger cities would be considered, that is what drove my curiosity.

She noted I was having trouble with fractions. “In double header if a player goes 3 for 8 what is his batting average?” she asked. I said .375. A light went off; in both of our heads. She marched me to the school library. She checked out the life story of Lou Gehrig for me. She told me to read it and as soon as I was finished give a book report to the class. The next day I handed her the book and told her I was ready.

I was twelve when that happened.

About three years later I picked a book out of a rack at a drug store, To Kill a Mockingbird. I read one paragraph and knew there was something magical about it. I knew that this book had to be read. I bought it and carried it with me until it was read.

I saw all people differently from that day forward. I saw myself differently. I saw the possibility of good literature changing a person’s thinking.

A copy of To Kill a Mockingbird rests in my personal library today. Every now and then I pick it up to try to recapture my feelings as a fifteen year old, the attraction, the burst of curiosity and awakening. I remember having it, but I just can’t quite get it back again.

Other bloggers with bedtime stories:

  1. Nothing to Display.. | ayimas
  2. Independence | Conversations
  3. A Book Grows on Me | Never Stationary
  4. Bedtime Stories | thelissachronicles
  5. Ilya Fostiy. A Village | Philosophy & Photography
  6. Louder than Allowed | Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories | likereadingontrains
  7. Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories | Basically Beyond Basic
  8. Back On The Train: Reflections on Hey! Get Off Our Train! | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  9. Bedtime Stories | Not Quite Classic… | Death By Any Other Name
  10. There are things, but no book | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  11. A Book That Changed My Life | das Nicht-zuhause-sein
  12. We Actually Read this Dreck? « Sorta-Ginger
  13. Daily Prompt: Hands Down, Books Up | One Starving Activist
  14. Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
  15. Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories « Mama Bear Musings
  16. Little Women and Many-hued Fairies | The Daily Dilly Dally
  17. Daily Post: Miss Twigley’s Tree | midlifemusingsblog
  18. Book at bedtime (Daily Prompt) | Prompt Queen
  19. Favorite? | thematticuskingdom
  20. OH the Places You’ll Go | Charming South
  21. De Kameleon | Angel Frouk
  22. A sleepy dog and bedtime stories | 祝福
  23. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/daily-prompt-bedtime-stories/ | Life, Captioned
  24. Daily Prompt: Bedtime stories | La chica de la burbuja
  25. Bedtime Stories | Miss Pelican’s Perch
  26. Bookworm | Head full of Fluff
  27. Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  28. Love You Forever | Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  29. Childhood book | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  30. Daily Prompt: The Little Engine That Could | Lines by Linda
  31. Post a Week: O Best Beloved | sketches and scribbles (reloaded)
  32. Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories | My Blog
  33. There’s A Monster At The End Of This Blog | NotTheWorstNews
  34. Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories | I’m Making Happiness
  35. I was never the same again! | Filter Kaapi’s random rants
  36. Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories | Moonlight Reflections
  37. Life Story | Sofacents
  38. Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories – The Blogging Path
  39. Dinosaurs! | Matthew Vett’s Development Blog
  40. PAD: Bedtime Stories |
  41. Bedtime Stories |
  42. Why it’s Papa Smurf to save the day! | thoughtsofrkh
  43. Confessions of an Addict | So I Went Undercover
  44. Bed time story | parislux
  45. Little Houses on my Bookshelf | Happy Monkey Land and Other Musings on Life
  46. Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories | Tranquil Dreams
23 comments

  1. I know just what you mean about some parents. Thank heaven that I got to live with my grams and grt aunt when I was young and that they did read to me and say my scary bedtime prayer about dying before I wake, lol!

  2. Encouraging testimony for those who know the obstacles that must be overcome when living in a family where alcoholism is present. I’m amazed that you are now such a good writer when you struggled with learning to read.

    • Over the years I have come to appreciate straightforward honest writing. No fluff, just give me a story. I can add my own fluff.
      Thanks, I hope you enjoy the story.
      Kenton Lewis.

  3. Wow! If only there were more teachers like that substitute teacher!! I loved your story. I also love To Kill a Mockingbird. I recently re-read it in the book club I’m in. It was the third time I read it… it never gets old!

  4. Great story. My first long addictive read was a Disney fiction that followed the life of a bear. It was very moving; I was ten; I became a lover of books.

  5. One of the best blog posts I’ve read in a long time… thanks for putting it out there! To Kill A Mockingbird is also my all time favorite book, and it’s the first book that I read from start to end… also when I was about fifteen. Again, great post.

  6. “To Kill a Mockingbird” also had a profound effect on me and changed my way of thinking and helped shape who I am today. I had a less than ideal childhood and I often used reading as a way to escape.

Blather away, if you like.

