Travels With Ole Duke

Ole Duke and I took many a midnight train.
Ole Duke and I took many a midnight train.

Daily Prompt: Menagerie

Do you have animals in your life? If yes, what do they mean to you? If no, why have you opted not to?

My daughter and her family have a wonderful little mutt named Mocha. My wife and I dog-sit when they go away. It’s fun, but like grandchildren I’m glad the dog can be returned.

When I was growing up there was always a dog present.

The first dog was named Herkimor; don’t know where the name came from. After a few drinks Dad could come up with anyhing. We called him Herky. At the same time we got a little pup named Splasher. I actually named him because he wet all over the place.

Than there was a dog named Whitey. He was white and was ran over while still a pup.

Another dog came along I named Champ. He was white and furry. I think he just never came home one day.

The next dog was named Nipper. She had pups. We managed to give a couple away. One died. I wanted to keep the fury one that looked like a miniature St Bernard who I named Neil from the TV series Topper. Nipper went out for a walk one day with Neil and never returned.

The last dog was a mixture of a Boston Terrier and something else. His name was Duke and he was my buddy from the sixth grade until I graduated from high school and left home. We had some great times together; too many to mention.

My wife and I don’t own a dog. I like them, but I don’t like their hair on the furniture or carpet. I don’t enjoy walking through my yard like I’m feeling my way through a minefield. When mowing the lawn I don’t want to hear a flip, flip, flip , flip, plop followed by “Ah, crap! The dog!” And finish the lawn as if being followed by a dog kennel.

Yet, over fifty years later, I still dream about ole Duke every now and then. Sure miss that old dog. Here is my poem about him:

Travels With Ole Duke

Train whistles echoed across corn fields at midnight
Ole dog Duke barked at coons in the moonlight
Come along ole Duke the train is going faster
What is a dog if he don’t have his master

I’ll show you a world that you will never see
If you stay at home and don’t come with me
My mind hopped that midnight freight train
Took me and ole Duke to the far cost of Maine

We saw Great Lakes from open boxcar doors
Heard Atlantic waves against the rocky shores
Passed along side many a raging river and falls
Heard the screech of a barn owls, soaring seagulls

Lifted my tired head to see snow capped peaks
Walked the walled canyons of New York streets
Saw comets streak across clear western skies
Heard a lonely wolf on a hilltop cry

Felt the prairie winds brush past my face
Fresh mowed hay, a wild berry’s taste
Cupped cold water from a clear mountain spring
Blackbirds, Meadowlarks, and Robins sing

Took a west bound to a blue Pacific beach
Saw distant silver plains just beyond my reach
We felt the dry heat of parched desert lands
And played on the beach of Galveston’s sands

Mighty mountains from the earth they leaped
Fields of golden grain about to be reaped
Gentle green slopes and valleys deep
Soft green meadows and mountains steep

Ole Duke was with me every step of the way
Through storms, dangers, and times of play
Through wind, rain, and snow, heat, or fog
What now is a master without his dog

As long as I have will and imagination
There’s plenty to see on my midnight vacations
Come on ole Duke we got some places to see
Let’s hop that midnight freight just you and me

There’s plenty to see and more places to go
When I hear that freight train’s whistle blow
Ole Duke’s long gone but memories remain
Of our midnight rides on distant freight trains

Other pet blogs:

  1. Daily Post: Menagerie | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
  2. Security | Conversations
  3. Safety Sounds Like a Cat Purring | Wandering Voiceless
  4. Everyday Adventures | Daily Prompt: Menagerie
  5. Nellie has spotted her sworn enemy | Philosophy & Photography
  6. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Basically Beyond Basic
  7. Photo comics “Nellie and a piece of meat” | Philosophy & Photography
  8. Le Chat Noir | Philosophy & Photography
  9. Animals have feelings too | Right Down My Alley
  10. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | The Gozum Show
  11. This is the tale of two cats and three dogs | Fantasy Gathering
  12. Miss Turtle | بيسان
  13. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
  14. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Joe’s Musings
  15. Our Cats | Angel Frouk
  16. Daily Prompt: Menagerie « Mama Bear Musings
  17. Abbey (Roads) | Daily Promptness
  18. Our Sweet Menagerie | Misifusa’s Blog
  19. Cats… Blog # 250! | thoughtsofrkh
  20. Identifying Andresa | Daily Prompt: Menagerie | likereadingontrains
  21. the zoo | thematticuskingdom
  22. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | shatteringlove
  23. The Peanut | calliopes lyre
  24. Menagerie | Drama Queen Under the Sun
  25. Menagerie – Today’s Daily Prompt | I solemnly swear i am upto no good!
  26. My Menagerie. | Multifarious meanderings
  27. Extended family out there | The Nameless One
  28. One rabbit, two rabbits, three rabbits, no rabbit | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  29. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | My Atheist Blog
  30. Stitch | Ald+R
  31. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | writinglikeastoner
  32. Menagerie | Miss Pelican’s Perch
  33. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Amanda’s Blog
  34. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Ohm Sweet Ohm
  35. Daily Prompt: All My Children | One Starving Activist
  36. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Off The Beaten Path (Being Silly in the City)
  37. My dog thinks she’s a model. | Little Red Jenn
  38. A magical menagerie | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  39. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Living Wonderously
  40. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | TantienHime’s Blog
  41. Cat and Dog pics to follow. | Natalie Elizabeth Beech
  42. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  43. The Daily Post:Menagerie. | Angrezikabutar
  44. Kind of Cute | Kind of a Bum
  45. Magical Levitating Dogs | breathofgreenair
  46. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | The Blogging Path
  47. Smudge! | The Small Girl Chronicles
  48. Welcome To The World Lil Fella | Charming South
  49. Three Hunters and their Would-be Prey « Sandra’s scribbles
  50. Sophie Dog! | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  51. Menagerie | thelissachronicles
  52. Pulling Another Sneaky Move! | So I Went Undercover
  53. Daily Prompt: Menagerie: The Glass Menagerie | baka’s blog
  54. Skanky Female Seeking Sexy Beast | This Typing Makes Me Look Busy….
  55. My Best Friend |
  56. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | For the Archives
  57. Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Drops of Ink

 

16 comments

Blather away, if you like.

