The Usual Quotes Usually Work

Inspector Renault from Casablanca said one of my most repeated quotes.
Inspector Renault from Casablanca said one of my most repeated quotes.

Daily Prompt: Silver Screen

Take a quote from your favorite movie — there’s the title of your post. Now, write!

I love movie quotes. In many ways it captures the entire movie in just a few words.

“Keep your friends close, your enemies closer.’

“Make him an offer he can’t refuse.”

“Hello, my name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.”

“You know, it’s very strange. I have been in the revenge business so long, now that it’s over, I don’t know what to do with the rest of my life.”

Those quotes arise in my mind as the occasion arises.

There is one that comes up more often than most. It’s from Casablanca. Renault says, “Round up the usual suspects.”

I say this when trying to solve a problem or find myself perplexed beyond my current comprehension. I always feel that the solution can be found in things blamed, problems, and answers considered or experienced from the past.

I find my solutions are found in my “usual suspects.”

Other quoting bloggers:

11 comments

Blather away, if you like.

