Hey, Let’s Have A Coffee

The harbor in Stonington, Maine; come and have coffee with me anytime.
The harbor in Stonington, Maine; come and have coffee with me anytime.

Daily Prompt: Places

Beach, mountain, forest, or somewhere else entirely?

Ever since I can remember maps have fascinated me. Not so much the map, but what it represented; it represented places and people.

My favorite maps or places were Maine, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, Labrador, and Prince Edward Island. My mind wondered about the life and people there.

My wife and I have been to Maine on many occasions, but we always seem to run out of steam to go any further. We’ve never traveled to the Maritimes.

One fall we were in Bar Harbor, Maine. At our motel was a couple from Prince Edward Island. I asked them what it was like this time of year there? I was hoping for an answer to motivate me to go there. “It’s flat and dull,” they said. “That’ why we came to Maine.”

That didn’t sound promising nor motivating especially when they added, “All the Maritimes are like that. There’s just nothing there.” How disappointing!

I go to the Google Map and try the street view for the Maritimes. Sometimes I even click on to the webcams. It is not nearly as rugged as I had envisioned.

I miss Maine, though. It has been a while since we have been there.

Every morning I click the webcam in Stonington, Maine. There is a webcam overlooking the harbor. I view it where I live while the sun hasn’t risen, but there it has been daylight for a while. It is low tide and the harbor bottom is visible.

I imagine myself in a small coffee shop in Stonington overlooking the harbor, some old friends arrive, we talk and sip coffee for a while.

Ya know if you’re not doing anything go to Google maps, enlarge it to the coast of Maine, click the webcam, wait for Stonington to pop up, click it, and have a coffee with me and my friends. In fact, it’s Saturday, we’ll likely be there most of the day.”

Somebody is sure to give you a down east, “Mornin’! What brings ya this way?”

Other “places” by bloggers:

18 Comments

Blather away, if you like.

