My Relationship With My Cell Phone Or Take This Phone And Shove It!

Remember the good ole days when lugging a cell phone was a cardio workout.
Remember the good ole days when lugging a cell phone was a cardio workout.

(Daily Prompt)

What was interesting about the Daily Prompt is that it ask, “Describe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between?” The assumption is that everyone posses a cell phone. Furthermore, with so many varieties and providers to choose from the choices are endless. You can choose what ever you want.

People today struggle for individuality. The cell phone doesn’t indicate who they are, but who they’d like to be.

The ring tone says it all. It says “look at me and how clever I am.” I’m thinking quite the opposite, “Look the other way. At least everybody picks a Barry White ring tone.” I wonder if Michelle Obama’s ring tone from her husband is Hail to the Chief?

Several years ago businessmen stood in the middle of air terminals talking loud to let the world know they had a cell phone. It was a symbol of ‘I have arrived.’ Now you walk through WalMart or through the mall and every toothless, braless, brainless bargain table Betty has a cell phone and every kid over the age of ten. The luster has gone from the cell phone.

There have been times I’ve wanted to tell people to take their cell phone and shove ‘em, but I don’t think that is the type of relationship to which the ‘Prompt’ is referring. In fact, I’ve wanted to take my cell phone and hand it to someone and tell them to shove it for me.

I’ve ripped pockets trying to get to my cell phone. I nearly ran over an old lady on the curb while trying to get my cell phone and guess what? She was on her cell phone. I yelled at her, “Get off the stupid cell phone and things like that wouldn’t happen! You and people like you are a nuisance! Get off your phone and watch where you’re walking!”

As for me, I was slow to grasp. I always got the free phone that came with the cheapest plan. My ring tone has always been whatever is already on the phone. I now have texting, but when texted I normally call back. It takes me too long to figure out how to put in apostrophes, quotes, and question marks.

One thing I truly like about my phone is that no matter where I am, I can reach old friends who live on the other side of the country. In that way it’s kind of a life line of the modern world that keeps me in touch with my past. I like that.

3 comments

Blather away, if you like.

