My Music; Expressing Deep Emotions

Musicals, such as South Pacific, display a range of emotions best expressed in song.
Musicals, such as South Pacific, display a range of emotions best expressed in song.

I don’t like going to musicals, but once there I’m hooked.

I like reality and musicals interrupt reality by breaking into a song. That doesn’t happen in real life or does it?

Have you ever felt so good you just want to sing. I have a friend who whistles a lot. What is in his head that triggers a melody? It’s got to be something good. Music brings out our emotions. Sometimes  we live a musical without really knowing it.

Many years ago at work a coworker was having a difficult time explaining something to me. “It’s too hard to put into words.”

“Than can you express it in music,” I said joking.

He smiled and walked away.

Later he approached me and started singing to the tune of There’s Nothing Like a Dame from South Pacific.

“Don’t you know I hate my boss,

More than anything in the world.

Don’t you know I hate my boss

And makes me want to hurl.”

What can’t be expressed in words, because the true emotion is lacking, can be expressed in song.

Here is There is Nothing Like a Dame from South Pacific;

Blather away, if you like.

