Wake Up McDonalds In Boise! I Would Sure Like A Steak Egg & Cheese Bagel

This is probably McDonald's best sandwich and I can't get it in Boise.
This is probably McDonald’s best sandwich and I can’t get it in Boise.

I’m in my fifth year of living in Boise. They have newspapers, magazines, radio, network TV, and even the Internet. We’re connected to the outside world; we know what’s going on.

Boise even has an Indian, Thai, Basque, Italian, Greek, and so on restaurants. We even have sushi and know what it is. We even know how to pronounce gyro (year [roll the ‘r‘] oh ; year – oh). We know the difference between a latté and cappuccino.

McDonald’s treats us like any sudden shift in what they perceive as local gastronomical fare might send us into a frenzy.

We just can’t seem to get a steak, egg, and cheese bagel in Boise. I don’t understand their logic. Boisonians are westerners. They like beef. McDonald’s already offers eggs and cheese and you can’t sling a dead cat through the town without hitting a place that serves bagels; so what’s the problem?

A few months ago I observed a high-level staff meeting between McDonald’s management and two guys in suits.

I interrupted. After all they are in my dining room.

I addressed the older of the two guys in suits. “Have you ever had a steak, egg, and cheese bagel.”

“Sure about two weeks ago in Florida,” he said.

“Did you like it?” I asked.

He smiled. “Oh yeah, they’re really good.”

“I like them too,” I said. “Why don’t you have them here?”

“We feel they wouldn’t sell very well here,” he said.

“Let’s see,” I said. “I like them, you like them. Right now we’re two for two.” I looked over at a friend who was with me. “Hey, George, you ever have a McDonalds’s steak, egg, and cheese bagel?”

“Man, I love those things,” George said.

“Now we’re three for three,” I said to the suit.

“They’ve been tried in markets similar to Boise,” the suit said. “And the response was not sufficient to keep them on the menu.”

“And your filet of fish does?” I said. “And when’s the last time a customer, such as myself, been willing to go to the wall with you over a McRib?”

He didn’t like me. “All I can say is that the numbers don’t support adding it to the menu.”

I leaned down and whispered. “You know you’re not looking very good right now.” I straitened up and said, “Thanks for your time; just so you know.”

Next time they ought to go to Wendy’s or Burger King for their staff meetings.

2 comments

Blather away, if you like.

