A New Year’s Musical Memory

Guy Lumbardo, it wasn't New Year's without him. It's sort of funny now that I think about it; that's the only time I ever heard him. He coudn't have lived on just one gig a year!
Guy Lumbardo, it wasn’t New Year’s without him. It’s sort of funny now that I think about it; that’s the only time I ever heard him. He coudn’t have lived on just one gig a year!

I haven’t gone to a New Year’s Party ever.

I don’t get ‘em. One day is the same as another.

The expression “see the new year in together” is used often. What changes from a second before midnight to a second after? Nothing; and everybody knows it.

On top of that nearly everybody except for retailers close; there are no government services, no banks, doctor’s offices are closed, nearly every administration and manufacturing function of the nation stops. I’m not necessarily complaining; I just don’t get it.

Mom and Dad never went out. Dad always went to bed and never saw a New Year’s come in. On the other hand Mom stayed up. And I stayed up with her.

We watched the ball drop in Times Square on an old black and white, which was kind of pathetic when you think about it; sitting alone on a cold winter evening watching others celebrate.

After the ball dropped Mom quickly changed the channel to find Guy Lombardo and His Royal Canadians play Auld Lang Syne.

Here is Guy Lombardo and His Royal Canadians December 31, 1957 probably just the way Mom and I watched it:

3 comments

Blather away, if you like.

