Musical Memory: My Kids Digged Lawrence Welk

And a vone, and a two, and a tree.
And a vone, and a two, and a tree.

In the 70’s my family (Jackie, my wife, Kathy our oldest daughter, Patty, our youngest daughter, and Matt, our son) and I lived in an old farm-house surrounded by corn fields and space.

It was a good time. It was simple and uncomplicated, although at the time life seemed a struggle.

Compared to today there was little to do. We had a black and white TV. We only got three channels. I don’t know how we ever made it?

There was little television programming available at 7:00 PM on Sundays. We watched Lawrence Welk. The program introduced my children to a variety forms of music, although we used to make fun of a lot of the performances.

Out of this somewhat Spartan existence comes a flood of fond memories. Memories that had little meaning or context to me until one particular occasion my daughter, Patty, started singing a song. Kathy and Matt joined in as if on cue. I laughed until nearly in tears.

My children claim to still bear emotional trauma and scares from watching Lawrence Welk.

Here is that song my children sang;

Blather away, if you like.

