I Blog So Therefore I Am Or Is It I Am So Therefore I Blog?

Writing is a long drawn-out process. Blogging has allowed some of us lazy people to show our stuff.

Writing is a long drawn-out process. Blogging has allowed some of us lazy people to show our stuff.

Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question

Why do you blog?

I’ve always enjoyed writing. When in high school I wrote for the school newspaper. I wrote the most column inches for the year and received an award from the Toledo Blade for the best written sports article in a school newspaper.

Over the years I sat down with a pencil or typewriter with paper and wrote. In the early 90s I bought a computer. I wrote for my employer’s newsletter.

During that time I submitted several short stories to literary journals. This was a frustrating process; submitting a work and waiting weeks or months for a reply. I was always happy to receive a note of rejection when followed with a reason. I learned from it. A few of my stories were accepted.

I submitted a manuscript for a book. I was told to build on or add descriptive and raw sexual tension, conflict, and uncertainty and exploit it – no thanks.

A manuscript was sent to a “Christian” agent. The story included the main character’s question about God’s care for him and desire to be good. The agent said if the character doesn’t ‘come to Jesus’ he did not want to represent me.

So I’m stuck with a bunch of stories in my head and pages of manuscripts and no place to go.

I just want to share my stories.

I write because I like to write and I blog cause nobody wants me.

That is hyperbole, so please don’t think I’m feeling sorry for myself. I quite happy and pleased. Sophisticated and good people say good things about what I write. What I mean is that blogging offers an opportunity to write the way I want and am.

Why they blog:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. I like to blog it! blog it! | amateurxpress
  2. Blogging is Therapeutic. | ayimas
  3. Daily prompt: million dollar question | Taking time, making time
  4. Daily Prompt: The Magic Question of Why Do I Blog? | My Daily Prompt Blog
  5. Why? Why Blog? Why Write? Why Breathe? | Tony’s Texts
  6. SELFISH BASTARD, I am | Standing Ovation, Seated
  7. Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | Of Glass & Paper
  8. Sometimes it’s good to let the crazy out. | thoughtsofrkh
  9. Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | Musical Foodie Love
  10. My story collection Platypus | Inside My Glitching Mind
  11. 2 Who is Sofie? DPChallenge | Sofie’s Diary
  12. Blogging for Freedom | Sisters of Christ
  13. Million-Dollar Question: Why do you blog? | Beyond Life. Almost daily.
  14. Now – Now | Tommia’s Tablet
  15. Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | pandora’s island 2
  16. Why blog? (WordPress Daily Prompt) | Ireland, MS and me
  17. ?Why do I blog | بيسان
  18. Aside 25: Million-Pound Question | Excerpts from the Life of RDZ
  19. Someone Needs To Know… | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  20. Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | JUkk
  21. For the Love of the Blog « Sorta-Ginger
  22. Blogging For… | Lydablogger
  23. The Things I Unknowingly Believed In | Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | likereadingontrains
  24. Play Outdoors
  25. Hello world! | MC’s Whispers
  26. Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | Oh For Blog’s Sake
  27. DP ~ Blogging Addiction | Misifusa’s Blog
  28. I Blog Because… | The Local Lens
  29. Why Do I Blog? | Catherine Louise Gurganus
  30. I blog to express whats in my heart whether positive or negative,political or not,romantic or not,serious business or fun,sports,..the list goes on and on but the ultimate reason-INSPIRE FELLOW HUMANS BEFORE I EXPIRE | eddienyagah’s Blog
  31. Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | Sonel’s Corner
  32. Why Am I Here? | Never Stationary
  33. Blogging For Squirrels…And OCD | All Those Small Things
  34. Drum-roll please! | sat n’ all that
  35. THINK…about reasons for blogging | ACT. REACT. or just THINK about it!
  36. My name is Narcissus | La Hacienda’s Weblog
  37. My relationship with writing | with love, jeddacp
  38. The Reason Why | Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  39. Why do you blog? | Olivia May Photography
  40. Post Movie Depression Syndrome | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  41. Why blog? (again) | The Nameless One
  42. Daily Prompt: Million Dollar Question – Why Do You Blog? | Donna H.
  43. Are You Following Me Or Am I Being Paranoid? | Cheri Speak
  44. Daily Prompt: Million Dollar Question | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  45. Daily Prompt: Finding My Way | Reviewer Rose
  46. Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | TayLearningPhotography
  47. www.greenzity.wordpress.com Finns ej mera | Tankanerfiler – Ladda ner massa saker Här
  48. Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | The Official Blog of Magnus Wendler
  49. Stand well back, it’s catching | Very Very
  50. Daily Prompt: The Million-Dollar Question, Worth A Million Words | Creative Mysteries
  51. Daily Post: Million Dollar Answer | A Sign Of Life
  52. Because of Hope | The Teen Theme
  53. Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question 16th, April 2013 | ittikorn1994
  54. Million Dollar Answer | paul scribbles
  55. Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | cognitive reflection
  56. I write because…{I can’t help it} | A journey of faith…
  57. Sharing Haiku… | Haiku By Ku
  58. Why do I blog. Because I can. | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  59. Both Writer and Reader | Momdeavor
  60. Why am I here | Pigments of Life
  61. I blog because… | The Small Girl Chronicles
  62. Blogging makes me happy! | My thought exactly…!
  63. Why Do I Blog? | Tails from a Monkey’s Hippocampus
  64. Million Dollar Question | Spaghetti~thoughts
  65. Why Do I Blog? Ask Clark Kent. | Tails from a Monkey’s Hippocampus
  66. ….and The Million Dollar Question is….. : Why do you blog? | Why not? | Kaleidoscopic World in Words
  67. Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | The Blogging Path
  68. Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | A Western Buddhist’s Travels
  69. Kind of Motivated | Kind of a Bum
  70. Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | My Atheist Blog
  71. Daily Prompt: Million Dollar Question | Zimmerbitch: age is just a (biggish) number
  72. Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | To Breathe is to Write

18 Comments

Filed under Daily Prompt, Essays

18 responses to “I Blog So Therefore I Am Or Is It I Am So Therefore I Blog?

  1. jhosack87

    I really dig this because I think it’s got something for everyone in it. I especially connect with the ability to write what I want. This is hard to do in academia because many simply want hard facts. Life isn’t about hard facts though, it’s about narratives. There’s a new genre of research called autoethnography out there that was just introduced to me in September last year. Before that, my writing was simply typed to get a grade. After that concept was introduced to me, my writing became more than that, it became art.

    I think that you really have something here, something that sounds an AWFUL like something I would write.

    Great entry.

    • Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the matter.
      When I wrote for my employer’s newsletter they offered awards to the facilities with good newsletters. The set down a criteria. When it was reviewed with our staff we concluded it was a criteria for a very boring newslatter. We wanted good content and readership not awards.

      • jhosack87

        Right! That shows just how considerate you are to the reader. I think that if one can mesh what they want to say with what the reader will most want to read and enjoy, you’ve got something!

  2. sortaginger

    Very well put. The last line says it all for me, too.

  3. I like that, no compromise. Stay true to yourself!

  4. Pingback: Are You Following Me Or Am I Being Paranoid? | Cheri Speak

  5. My wife ask me why I blog on the internet for Free and use all of my good material open for someone else to steal! Being naturally sarcastic, my response was “who wants to steal junk!” utter silence…………….”Then that’s what you think of your stories? Junk? Then why do you have a publisher?”
    I paused ……then replied “so I can have a professional tell me its garbage!”
    “Okay, sign right here and transfer all the copyrights over to me! ” she said. ” I thought I did that over 30 years ago at the Court House!” I replied. She said ” You did! I’m just updating your contract!”

  6. Pingback: Million Dollar Answer | paul scribbles

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | My Atheist Blog

  8. Love your last sentence ~ thanks for the pingback! Great post ~ so glad we’ve connected!

  9. Nobody wants ME either, if it’s any comfort. :( :(

  10. Billie

    Thanks for reblogging! Really appreciate it!

    Looking forward to reading more of your blog! :)

  11. Pingback: Why blog? (WordPress Daily Prompt) | Ireland, MS and me

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | My Atheist Blog

Blather away, if you like.

